POL 253/IAF 253

by HUSKEY_JE — last modified 2016-04-28T16:30:25-04:00

POL 253/IAF 253 - Introduction to International Relations

This guide is created to help POL 253/IAF 253 students locate the resources available at Tarver Library for their research project.

I. Finding Books

Library Catalog
Search Library Catalog to locate books related to your topics. You can search for materials by keyword, by subject, by title, and by author. Please conduct a search by SUBJECT using the subject term "international relations".

WorldCat
Search for books and publications owned by libraries worldwide.

II. Finding International Relations Journals

International Relations journals in the Mercer Library Catalog

International relations journals available electronically

III. Finding Articles

Academic Search Complete
This multi-disciplinary full-text database includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

Research Library (at ProQuest)
Research Library provides abstracts and indexing for over 2,600, as well as full text for over 1,700 scholarly journals and general magazines in the humanities, social sciences, general sciences, and business.

LexisNexis Academic
The database provides full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, political, and educational sources.

Social Sciences Citation Index at Web of Knowledge (1991-present)
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines.

IV. Government Web Sites

Country Studies (Library of Congress)
101 countries and regions are covered. The date of information for each country appears on the title page of each country and at the end of each section of text.

Background Notes/Country Fact Sheets (US Department of State)
The Background Notes include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.

World Factbook Reference Desk, PREX 3.15:
The World Fact Book, published annually by the CIA, provides information on geography, populations, economies, political conditions, and armed forces of 267 countries, dependent areas, and other entities. Paper copy is available on the ready reference shelf.

United Nations
Information on peace and security, international law, economic and social development, human rights, the text of some resolutions, and daily press releases.

Congressional Research Service Reports on the Middle East
This site provides updated CRS reports on Middle East.

V. Region-specific Sources

 

Middle East Studies Internet Resources (Columbia University Libraries)
Columbia University Libraries' Middle East Studies Internet Resources is an on-going compilation of electronic bibliographic resources and research materials on the Middle East and North Africa available on the global Internet. Electronic resources from the Middle East are organized by region, country and subject.

African Studies Center
This site sponsored by the African Studies Center at the University of Pennsylvania contains exhaustive annotated web links and is arranged by country.

Asia Institute (UCLA)

EUROPA - Gateway to the European Union
EUROPA is the European Union's portal web site, providing up-to-date coverage of European Union affairs and essential information on European integration.

Russian and East European Network Information Center (UT-REENIC)
This site provides scholars of Russia and Eastern Europe with access to academic databases and information services throughout the Internet, and provides information on and from Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union.

WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources
This site presents an Internet directory of over 2600 annotated links to high-quality sources of information and analysis in a wide range of international affairs, international studies, and international relations topics.

The WWW Virtual Library: Latin American Studies
This site is sponsored by Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC), University of Texas at Austin.

VI. International Relations Professional Associations

American Political Science Association

Association of Professional Schools of International Affairs

American Foreign Service Association

International Affairs Contact Network

European Consortium for Political Research

Center for National Security Studies

VII. Writing for Political Science

Writing In Political Science- a link from University of North Carolina Chapel Hill, Writing Center