Psychology (College of Liberal Arts)

by Stephanie R. Miranda — last modified 2017-09-13T14:18:19-04:00

Any Social Sciences Librarian can provide research support for students enrolled in Psychology on an undergraduate or graduate level. You can contact an individual Social Sciences Librarian via phone, email, or in person using the contact information to the right.

Need help citing sources?  For APA style, check out the guide from OWL at Purdue for help formatting your citations.  You can also bring your reference list to the Library Reference Desk, and a librarian will check your citations.  Also check out our guide on Zotero, a great resource to help you keep track of your citations.

Databases

PsycINFO (EBSCO) — Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals from nearly 50 countries.

PsycARTICLES (EBSCO)
Contains articles from every journal published by the American Psychological Associations, and is considered one of the best sources of searchable full text articles on current issues in psychology. Most, but not all of the articles in this database can also be accessed through PsycINFO.

PsychiatryOnline (American Psychiatric Publishing)
PsychiatryOnline features the DSM Library (including DSM-V), The American Journal of Psychiatry, and a collection of psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO)
With more than 470 full-text journals, this collection covers topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Counseling and Therapy in Video
Videos include counseling sessions, consultations, interviews, demonstrations, lectures, and synchronized, searchable transcripts.

ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Elsevier's e-journal/e-book platform. Elsevier is one of the premier publishers of scientific journals and books.

MEDLINE (EBSCO)
A database of indexed journal citations and abstracts related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences.

Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO)
Consumer-oriented health content, including full text from many health reference books and encyclopedias and thousands of health reports as well as physician-generated videos and hundreds of medical images and diagrams. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine.

Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)
Covers dissertations accepted at accredited U.S. institutions since 1861. It selectively covers Master's theses and Canadian, British, and other international dissertations. Most dissertations published since 1997, along with some earlier dissertations, are available in full text.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) — A resource that includes authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, ProQuest now updates and publishes this resource monthly.

Tests & Datasets

PsycINFO (EBSCO) — Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals from nearly 50 countries.

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCO) — Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments and serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products.

ETS Test Link Database
The Educational Testing Service test collection includes information about over 25,000 tests and measures. Tests in the database are downloadable for a fee or available in cited journal articles.

Datasets

APA Links to Data Sets
A list of publicly available data sets and repositories compiled by the American Psychological Association.

The Kinsey Institute - Data Archives
Data archive sources primarily related to human sexuality, compiled by the Kinsey Institute at Indiana University Bloomington.

DataCite Repositories List
This list is a working document, initiated via a collaboration between the British Library, BioMed Central and the Digital Curation Centre, that aims to capture the growing number of repositories for research data in a variety of fields.

Books & Reference Sources

Search the library catalog to find books available in the Mercer University Libraries. Items held at other Mercer University Libraries locations can be ordered by clicking the "Request" button and filling in the required information. Items not available in the University Libraries may be requested via Interlibrary Loan at no charge.

Psychology-related books available in the various University Library collections include these Library of Congress classification numbers:

  • BF 1-990 Psychology
  • BF 176-176.5 Psychological tests and testing
  • BF 180-198.7 Experimental psychology
  • BF 636-637 Applied psychology
  • BF 712-724.85 Developmental psychology
  • HM 1001-1281 Social psychology
  • LB 1050.9-1091 Educational psychology
  • LB 1101-1139 Child study

Reference Sources in the University Libraries:

The Cambridge Dictionary of Psychology Reference, BF31 .C28 2009

APA dictionary of psychology Reference, BF31 .A65 2015

Other reference sources are available at the Swilley Library and the Regional Academic Centers. Please visit these locations to review these materials, as they do not circulate, and must be used in the building. 

Useful Websites

Classics in the History of Psychology
Classics in the History of Psychology is an effort to make the full texts of a large number of historically significant public domain documents from the scholarly literature of psychology and allied disciplines available on the World Wide Web. (Description taken from the "What is CHP?" page of this website.)

History of Psychology 
Developed by Athabasca University in Canada, this page links out to a variety of resources on topics relevant to the history of Psychology. 

Minority Health Archive
Archive of print and electronic media related to the health of African Americans, Latinos and Asian Americans. Contains over seven hundred documents, including editorials, newspaper articles, research papers, fact sheets, course syllabi and government publications.