Human Services

last modified 2018-08-24T15:36:29-04:00
Journals

To access a particular journal, use the e-Journals search and enter in the title of the journal.

Books

Browse print and electronic books and videos in the library catalog with the subject heading 'Human Services'

Websites

  • The General Social Survey The NORC General Social Survey is one of the most widely used and recognized social science surveys in the US. It has been conducted on a regular basis since 1972.
  • ICPSR — Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
  • Pew Research Center — A nonpartisan fact tank.  Includes some free raw data.
  • UNC Dataverse — Includes the Odum Institute for Research in Social Science data.  Provides access to the Harris Poll, Carolina Poll, Southern Poll, National Network of State Polls and Knight Foundation Community Poll collections. Raw data included.

Research Methods
  • Encyclopedia of Research Design (Sage) — Includes more than 500 entries on such topics as making decisions about research design, interpreting and drawing valid inferences from data, evaluating experimental design strategies and results, and undertaking research projects in an ethical manner. Two additional features: bibliographic entries devoted to significant articles in the history of research design and reviews of contemporary tools, such as software and statistical procedures, used to analyze results. The encyclopedia addresses cross- and multidisciplinary research needs, with many examples drawn from the social and behavioral sciences, neurosciences, and biomedical and life sciences. It provides summaries of advantages and disadvantages of often-used strategies and it shows hundreds of sample tables, figures, and equations based on real-life cases.
  • SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods presents current and complete information as well as ready-to-use techniques, facts, and examples from the field of qualitative research in a very accessible style. The entries cover every major facet of qualitative methods, including access to research participants, data coding, research ethics, the role of theory in qualitative research, and much more--all without overwhelming the informed reader.
  • Basics of social research : qualitative and quantitative approaches / W. Lawrence Neuman