COMM 330 (Biggers)

by Stephen E. Michaels — last modified 2017-08-17T12:07:22-04:00
COMM 330 - Elements of Persuasion

 

Find books and other materials (library catalog)

 

Watch this quick video for help finding books and other materials

To find books, videos, electronic books, and other materials owned by the Mercer Libraries, go to the library home page and search for your topic under the "catalog" tab.

Library catalog

 

Find magazine and journal articles (databases)

 

Watch this quick video for help finding scholarly journal articles

Some databases to try:

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) — Provides abstracts and indexing for over 3,800, as well as full text for over 3,200 scholarly journals and general magazines.

**CQ Researcher — Coverage of political and social issues, with reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED RESOURCE!

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online (Britannica) — Contains more than 73,000 articles from the printed Encyclopædia Britannica, including more than 8,000 articles that are not found in the print set. The resource also includes year-in-review articles from recent yearbooks, The Britannica Student Encyclopedia, and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus. The database also includes an extensive World Atlas linking users to maps, flags, statistics, and more of over 215 countries. The Britannica Internet Guide includes links to over 200,000 related Web sites, selected for content by Britannica editors.

JSTOR — An online archive containing back issues of scholarly journals in many disciplines.

Research Library (ProQuest) — Provides abstracts and indexing for over 2,600, as well as full text for over 1,700 scholarly journals and general magazines. Research Library is an expansion of, and replacement for, the database titled Periodical Abstracts Research II.

 

Find and Evaluate Websites

 

Are you trying to sort out the useful information from the junk on the Internet? Try these guides:

Evaluating Websites (Cornell University)

 

Basically, you want to look at the following aspects of the website:

  1. Accuracy of information
  2. Authority of information
  3. Objectivity
  4. Currency
  5. Accessibility

 

Cite your resources

Once you find your sources and you are writing your paper, you need to make sure you give credit to others for their ideas, thoughts, and words. Use the following link for a basic understanding of APA style and how to cite many different types of resources (see the list on the left side of the web page).

Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL)