CHR 170 - Qur'an Oral Presentation

by Theresa Rhodes last modified 2016-04-28T16:30:27-04:00

Note: This guide emphasizes the scholarly helps available in the Tarver Library to assist you with your group oral presentation on a particular passage in the Qur'an.  

Translations

IslamiCity.com

This website provides several options:

  • word search in three English versions
    • Yusuf Ali
    • Marmaduke Picktall
    • Muhammad Asad
  • links to hear the recitation of any of the passages in one of several recitations

 Oxford Islamic Studies Online

This source provides a full screen mode allowing options to view each chapter or jump to any location and a concordance.  Note:  If accessing this source off-campus, remember to log in to the library website first.

  • Compare and contrast two translations side-by-side
    • The Koran Interpreted Translation by A. J. Arberry
    • The Qurʾan Translation by M. A. S. Abdel Haleem
Study Qur'ans

All of these versions include useful introductions to each sura and footnotes to help explain the passages.

  • The Meaning of the Holy Qur'an in Today's English (Extended Study Edition) (Emerick)
    REF BP 109 2005
    • another copy (2011) available in CHR porch
    • most "popular" source in that it is written to be easily understood by those not in the Muslim tradition
    • extensive footnotes that may include "Occasions of Revelation" that detail when the passage was revealed to Muhammad
    • footnotes are a good source for your historical context
    • tip:  taking photos with your phone will help identify the detail required for your bibliography that will  need to document in which part of the source the information was found--for example, in footnote #1, or in background, or in introduction
  • The Holy Qur'an: Text, Translation and Commentary (Ali)
    REF BP 109 2008
    • includes Arabic
    • includes extensive footnotes
    • available only in Tarver
    • tip:  start at the back when using this source
  • The Message of the Qur'an (Asad)
    REF BP 109 .A8 1980
    • another copy available in CHR porch
    • includes Arabic
    • first page includes an introduction to each sura which may be helpful in terms of literary and historical contexts
    • includes footnotes
    • extensive calligraphy on first page of sura
  • Study Qur'an (Nasr)
    REF BP 109 2015 (on reserve for CHR 170)
    • newest source created by a committee rather than an individual
    • more scholarly than devotional
    • extensive footnotes, more technical than other sources and may be more difficult to decipher
    • includes an introduction to each sura which may be helpful in terms of literary and historical contexts
Introductions to the Qur'an

Syed Abu-Ala' Maududi http://www.islamicity.com/mosque/quran/maududi/index.html

  • Introductions to each chapter in the Qur'an are provided by Maududi from his translation and commentary, The Meaning of the Qur'an
  • This source uses the standard technique of providing an explanation of the verses from the Sunnah of the Prophet (sas), including the historical reasons behind the verses.
Citations

Dr. Flaming has assigned standard abbreviations for several of the key resources for this paper that are to be used in your footnotes.  These are very similar so be careful to select the right one.

QE

EQ

CEI