Religion

last modified 2019-08-13T18:17:48-04:00

Need help citing sources? If you're using MLA style, check out the guide from OWL at Purdue for help formatting your citations. You can also Ask a Librarian online, through email, by phone or in-person at the reference desk for citation assistance.

College of Liberal Arts, Roberts Department of Religion

Guides on this page are for Religion classes in the College of Liberal Arts and the College of Professional Advancement.

Religion Databases

Atla Religion Database with Atlas PLUS
This database provides links to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Full-text is provided for more than 266,000 electronic articles and book reviews. Begun in 1949, indexing for some journal titles extends back into the nineteenth century. 

Canterbury Dictionary of Hymnology
This reference resource is targeted for scholars of global hymnody, with information on the hymns of many countries and languages, and a strong emphasis on the historical as well as the contemporary.  This resource contains over 4000 individual entries about hymns of the Judaeo-Christian tradition, from the earliest years to those written today that will be of interest to literary scholars, musicians, church historians, and theologians.

Digital Karl Barth Library
Features the entire corpus of Karl Barth's Gesamtausgabe - more than 40 volumes of sermons, letters, lectures, conversations, and academic writings.

Oxford Biblical Studies Online
This database focuses on resources for the study of the Bible and biblical history.  Authoritative scholarly texts and reference works are integrated with tools that provide ease of research into the background, context, and issues related to the Bible.

Religion & Philosophy Collection 
This collection includes nearly 300 full-text journals, with more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, covering topics in spiritual, ethical, philosophical, cultural, and historical aspects of the world's major denominations and religions. Most of the journals are also included in Academic Search Complete; however, some titles are unique to this collection.

Philosopher's Index 
This database covers the fifteen fields of philosophy: aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion. The Philosopher's Index contains research published since 1940 including nearly 570 journals from 43 countries with content representing a variety of languages.

Research Library 
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 2,800 scholarly journals and general magazines as well as abstracts and indexing for over 4,000 publications from 1971 forward. A separate subject module is available for Religion. This collection includes more than 150 journals, most of them available in full-text; covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many religions; and titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. 

Dissertations and Theses Full Text
This multidisciplinary database includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full-text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Also available through this link is the option using the Advanced Search (selecting school name/code) to include and/or limit to doctoral dissertations and/or master’s theses produced by students at the Atlanta campus of Mercer University.

JSTOR
This database provides access to complete back files of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. This database provides archives of 31 journals related to including Journal of Biblical Literature with coverage back to 1890. The University Library subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, and VII, and Health & General Sciences.

Religion Journals

You can also search by a specific journal title either in the library catalog or in the listing of e-journals.  The first link takes you into the library catalog and displays all journal titles, including those that are no longer purchased.  You may find more success using the Full Text Finder link below.

Religion journals in the Mercer Library Catalog

Religion journals are available in full text through online databases. The broadest grouping is for "Religion and Philosophy."  Use the limits on the left-hand side of the screen to narrow your focus from this broadest grouping.

Religion Books

Search the library catalog to find books available in the Tarver (Macon), Swilley (Atlanta), and Regional Academic Center (Henry County) locations as well as electronic books. Before going to pull the item,  please check to make sure it is at your library.  If the item you need is at another location, view this guide on locating and requesting items.  Items not available in the Tarver Library can be requested from another library.

Religion books available in the Tarver Library on the 3rd floor include these Library of Congress classification numbers:

  • BL Religions
  • BM Judaism
  • BP Islam
  • BQ Buddhism
  • BR Christianity
  • BS The Bible
  • BT Doctrinal Theology
  • BV Practical Theology
  • BX Christian Denominations

See what's new in your subject area by viewing New Acquisitions.  If you don't see a title in the list or in the online catalog, suggest new or additional titles that the library should purchase.

Religion Reference Sources in the Tarver Library

Anchor Bible Dictionary Reference, BS 440 .A54 1992 (6 vols)

Chicago Manual of Style Permanent Reserve (Circulation), Z 253 .U69 2010
web version is also available.

Encyclopaedia Judaica 

Encyclopedia of Christianity Reference, BR 95 .E8913 (5 vols)

Encyclopedia of New Religious Movements 

Encyclopedia of Religion Reference, BL 31 .E46 2005 (15 vols)

New Interpreter's Bible Reference, BS 491.2 .N484 1994 (12 vols)

New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible Reference, BS 440 .N445 2006 (5 vols)

The New Strong's Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible Reference, BS 425 .S84 1996
See this Guide on how to use Strong's Concordance.

Women's Study Bible Reference, BS 195 .N394 2009

Useful Religion Web Sites

ARDA (Association of Religion Data Archives) http://www.thearda.com/
The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Data included in the ARDA are submitted by the foremost religion scholars and research centers in the world.

Atla Cooperative Digital Resource Initiative 
The Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative of the American Theological Library Association and Association of Theological Schools provides access to digital images of woodcuts, photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, postcards, manuscripts, lithographs, sermons, shape-note tune books, and various forms of Christian art, architecture, and iconography.

Bible Gateway http://www.biblegateway.com
Hosted by Gospel Communications International, this site is intended to be a tool for reading and researching scripture online. The user may choose from 81 Bibles currently available, comprising 56 searchable texts, 16 different translations, and 29 available languages; 12 audio Bibles; and 13 e-books. Search options include by passage or keyword and several advanced options including limiting searches to a particular resource (e.g. books of Moses) and accessing a list of books of the Bible by version. Study aids, including commentaries and studies, devotionals, tools for PDAs, lexicons and dictionaries, are also available. Online help and large print viewing are located at the top of the screen for easy access.

Christian Classics Ethereal Library http://www.ccel.org/
A publishing project of Calvin College, this site contains full-text of some classics in Church History as well as reference works such as Bible dictionaries and encyclopedias.

Special Collections  (Baptist & University Archives) http://libraries.mercer.edu/tarver/archives
Located on the third floor of the Tarver Library, Mercer University maintains a library and archives of primary and secondary research materials related to the university and the Baptist community. The department is open from 9:00 AM until 5:00 pm Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday. All materials are housed in closed stacks, and it is recommended that contact be made with the archives prior to visiting.

Center for Baptist Studies http://www.centerforbaptiststudies.org
A part of Mercer University, this site lists programs, events, resources, etc. relating mostly to Baptists in North America.

Religion Online http://www.religion-online.org/
This site includes links to over 5,200 articles and chapters. Topics include Old and New Testament, Theology, Ethics, History and Sociology of Religion, Communication and Cultural Studies, Pastoral Care, Counseling, Homiletics, Worship, Missions and Religious Education.

Unbound Bible http://unbound.biola.edu/
Hosted by Bioloa University, this site includes a collection of searchable Bibles including 10 English versions, Greek and Hebrew versions, 4 ancient versions, and 42 versions in other languages.

Library Guides

Bible Translations
Listing of print and electronic translations of the Bible.

Religious Sources and Publishers

This guide provides a few tips, including information on publishers of religious scholarship.