Women's and Gender Studies

last modified 2019-05-31T15:58:09-04:00

General Databases

These resources cover many subject areas including Women's and Gender Studies.

JSTOR — An online archive containing back issues of scholarly journals in many disciplines. You can browse resources specific to this field in their Feminist and Women's Studies section.

SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) — SocINDEX with Full Text offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) —A multidisciplinary database covering a broad range of topics including African and African American history, literature, culture, and social experience.

Research Library (ProQuest) — Provides abstracts and indexing for over 2,600, as well as full text for over 1,700 scholarly journals and general magazines.

Wiley Online Library — Wiley Online Library is a multi-disciplinary database that includes full-text journal articles and some full-text reference sources for a variety of topics and fields.

History Reference Center (EBSCO) — Features full text for more than 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, as well as full text for more than 120 history periodicals. Further, the database contains 59,640 historical documents; more than 50,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 110,200 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.

Multimedia Resources

Kanopy Video Streaming — Kanopy is a video streaming solution for colleges offering a "Netflix-like" user experience and a broad selection of documentaries, feature films and training videos from thousands of producers. Touching on all topics, featured producers in Kanopy's collection include Criterion Collection, PBS, HBO, The Video Project, New Day Films, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features, BBC, and many more. Films can be watched from anywhere, anytime by all staff and students. Feminist, Gender, and Women's Studies content can be found in this subject area of the database.

Films On Demand — Films On Demand is a streaming video collection of almost 30,000 educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Producers include Films for the Humanities and Sciences, PBS, A&E, History, ABCNews, BBC, NBC News, Shopware, Biography, National Geographic and others. Feminist, Gender, and Women's Studies content can be found in this subject area of the database.

Physical Resources

Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories

The Oxford encyclopedia of women in world history / Bonnie G. Smith, editor in chief
Reference HQ1121 .O93 2008  Volumes 1-4
Tarver Library, 2nd floor