GHS 330, Epidemiology

by Theresa Rhodes last modified 2016-04-28T16:30:23-04:00

This brief guide recommends databases, e-journals, journals, books, and e-books for your epidemiology project.  Additional resources are also available on the Global Health Subject Librarian page.  Right now we do not have anyone in the Tarver Library who specializes in health sciences or medicine.   You may want to contact Carolann Curry by phone at x2541 or by e-mail, or visit her in person at the Medical School Library, here on the Macon campus.

Recommended Databases

Web of Science/Web of Knowledge — Provides detailed citations and abstracts for the top scholarly periodicals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers both domestic and international journals, open access resources, books, patents, proceedings, and Web sites.

ScienceDirect — Elsevier's Science Direct Web Editions provides access to the current twelve months of articles from about 200 journals in the physical and biological sciences. The issues are available on a rolling basis, so when the March 2011 issue is posted, the March 2010 issue is removed.

Science & Technology Collection — Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications.

MEDLINE — Provides access to National Library of Medicine's database, as well as links to some full-text articles.

Academic Search Complete — Provides abstracts and indexing for over 3,800, as well as full text for over 3,200 scholarly journals and general magazines.

Research Library — Provides abstracts and indexing for over 2,600, as well as full text for over 1,700 scholarly journals and general magazines. Research Library is an expansion of, and replacement for, the database titled Periodical Abstracts Research II.

POPLINE — This is the world’s largest database on reproductive health and focuses on particular developing-country issues including demography, AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases, maternal and child health, primary health care communication, population, and environment. Maintained by the K4Health Project at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health/Center for Communication Programs and is funded by the United States Agency for International Development. The database includes nearly 370,000 records with most of the items published from 1970 to the present. The database adds 10,000 records annually and is updated every Monday. In addition to free text searching, the database can be searched by keywords from the POPLINE Thesaurus.

E-Journals

Full text Electronic Journal List

  • list of all electronic journals available to Mercer students
  • make sure you have the complete citation (title, volume, number, date, and page numbers) before searching
  • enter journal title and click search
  • follow the links (journals often appear in more than one database) to identify full-text
  • if specific volume/year is not available online, click on the link to view print holdings of the title


Epidemiology related journals available in full-text through online databases include:

- Epidemiology & Epidemics
- Transmission of Disease
-
Public Health - General
-
Communicable Diseases

Print Journals at Tarver

  • journals are arranged alphabetically by title on the first floor of the Tarver Library
  • current issues are displayed in the center of the floor
  • lifting the slanted display shelves reveals other current issues


Books and E-books


Search the library catalog to find books available in the Tarver (Macon), Swilley (Atlanta), and Regional Academic Center (Douglas County, Eastman, and Henry County) Libraries as well as electronic books. Items not available in the Tarver Library can be requested from another library.

The following Library of Congress call numbers might assist you in finding books on the 3rd floor of the Tarver Library:

  • RA 639 - 642: Transmission of disease
  • RA 643 - 645: Disease (communicable and noninfectious) and public health
  • RA 646 - 648.3: War and public health
  • RA 648.5 - 676: Epidemics. Epidemiology. Quarantine, Disinfection

Mercer undergraduate students may also check out books from the Medical School Library. (The checkout period is only for one week.) In case you don't know where it is located, this campus map shows you where the Medical School is located on the Macon campus. Their library catalog is different from the one for Tarver, and they use the National Library of Medicine's subject classification scheme (referred to as MESH). The public health books are in the "WA" call numbers.

You can browse Ebrary to find electronic books, and possible subject headings include:

public health
environmental health
epidemics and epidemiology
public aspects of medicine

A guide to using this source is available.

Need more help?

Tarver Librarians are available to assist you, and we ask that you "bear with us" as this is a new subject area for most of us.