GHS 200: Introduction to Health Science

by gratz_ae — last modified 2016-09-29T11:37:03-04:00

This guide is a starting point for your research needs during this class. Below you will find links and information most likely to be relevant for your needs, but don't limit yourself to the sources here. If you're not finding what you need, be sure to check out the main subject guide for Global Health, as well.

Global Health Studies is also supported by the Medical School Library and LRC. As Mercer students, you can use many of their resources by visiting the Medical School (MUSM) Library in person on the Macon campus. If you don't know where it is located, use this campus map.

Also, don't hesitate to ask a librarian if you have questions! Your Tarver librarian for this class, Amy Gratz, is happy to help, as are Anna Krampl and David Greenebaum from the MUSM Library. You can also call the reference desks at 478-301-2055 (Tarver) and 478-301-4056 (Medical Library).

Databases - Articles

PubMed (NLM)
This public-access database has more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content in some cases.

National Library of Medicine Databases
The National Library of Medicine offers 271 databases, electronic resources, and APIs that contain articles and information on a wide variety of health subjects.

ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Citations and some full text to high quality science journals published by Elsevier. Access is on a rolling basis so coverage will be for the current 5-7 years depending upon the title.

Databases - Statistics

OASIS - (Online Analytical Statistical Information System) - Georgia Division of Public Health
Use OASIS to access Georgia vital statistics, maternal and child health, Georgia Comprehensive Cancer Registry, and population data. Select data by age, race, sex, county or year. A GIS mapping tool is also available.

County Health Rankings
The County Health Rankings measure the health of nearly all counties in the nation and rank them within states. Compare counties on factors such as mortality, morbidity, health behaviors, clinical care, social & economic factors, and physical environment.  You can also see how a county compares to the state average and national benchmarks.

Georgia Statistics System
Supported by UGA, this website will customize the statistics, maps and graphs that you want from the latest data sources from the Georgia County Guide and the Farmgate Value Report. Use the county-by-county analysis tool to compare multiple counties on a wide variety of categories, including Health, Population, Vital Statistics, Education and Natural Resources, among others.

State Health Facts
Contains the latest state-level data on demographics, health, and health policy, including health coverage, access, financing, and state legislation. Compare Georgia to other states or to national data. This website is a project of the Kaiser Family Foundation.

Global Health Facts
A project of the Kaiser Family Foundation, this resource provides data by country on HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, and other key health and socio-economic indicators.

CIA World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities

World Health Organization (WHO)
WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends. You may also want to look at the Global Health Observatory, a WHO resource that includes the WHO database, reports, indicator registry, and country stats from each Member State.

Centers for Disease Control (CDC)
CDC.gov is the Center for Disease Control’s primary online communication channel.  CDC.gov provides users with credible, reliable health information on: data and statistics, diseases and conditions, emergencies and disasters, environmental health, and healthy living for individuals as well as Public Health professionals, healthcare providers, and researchers and scientists.

CDC Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
The Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report is issued by the CDC.

Research Tips:

  1. Use scholarly sources when necessary. Check out this guide for a reminder about the difference between scholarly and non-scholarly sources.
  2. Whether or not you're using scholarly sources, make sure you're using high-quality sources. Try using the C.R.A.P. test to decide when to use a source.
  3. Need to find the full-text of an article? Follow this guide on locating full-text articles. (Also available as a video tutorial.)
  4. Visit the Mercer Medical Library! They have access to many resources that Tarver doesn't. Since you're not Medical School students, you can only access these resources by going to the library.
  5. Don't forget about books! Search the Tarver library catalog for books on your topic, including ebooks.
  6. Stuck? Ask a librarian for help! Librarians are available at the Ask Jack reference desk from 9am-9pm most days of the week. You can also reach us via chatemail, or text (478-227-2055).