GBK 202, Will Jordan

by gratz_ae — last modified 2016-04-28T16:30:24-04:00

This guide contains resources and information to help you complete your research assignment. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact Amy Gratz directly (see information at right), or stop by the Ask Jack desk.

Useful Information:

Scholarly and Popular Sources - if you need a review, take a look at this guide to learn about Scholarly Sources and how to recognize them.

Evaluate Sources with the C.R.A.P. Test - remember the importance of evaluating your sources! The C.R.A.P. test will help you get started, but you'll need to do more in-depth evaluations, as we discussed in class.

Search Strategies - briefly discussed in class, there are a lot of ways to optimize your search and return better results. This guide goes over some of these in detail.

Getting Full Text - if you find only a title and abstract for an article, you can still get the full text, either through one of our other databases, in print, or from another library, anywhere in the world. This guide goes through the steps if you need help.

Annotated Bibliographies - this guide talks about some of the key criteria to include in an annotation, as well as some general information about how annotated bibliographies are organized and how they're used. There are some example annotations at the bottom; you can find more by searching for "annotated bibliography" in the library catalog.

MLA style and Citing - it's always important to cite your sources properly! The first link will take you to the Purdue OWL guide on MLA, the second link goes to a page explaining why it's important to cite, and how the different styles work. Remember that you can always run a list of references by a librarian for additional accuracy! I've also included an example of how to cite the works you've been reading in class, as there is a specific set of rules to follow for works in translation:

General format for citing a specific edition of a work in translation:

Author last name, first name. Title of the work. Trans. Translator’s Name. Edition number. Volume number. Place of publication: publisher, date of publication. Medium.

Example from last semester:

Homer. The Iliad. Trans. Robert Fagles. New York: Viking, 1990. Print.

Extra Database Searching Tips:

The image below details some of the useful search tools you'll find in several of the databases I've recommended for this assignment, including Academic Search Complete, the Philosopher's Index, and MLA International Bibliography. You'll see similar options in Research Library, in a different layout. The other databases linked below do NOT have some of these options, which can make them harder to search - look around on the advanced search screen of each to see what, if any, search options you have. Please don't hesitate to contact me if you have questions!

 

Locating Resources:

Books:

Library Catalog - Search here for books and other items held by the Mercer University Libraries. Use the previous link to do your own search, or click one of the subject headings below to see a list of books about each work for this assignment:

The Republic: "Plato. Republic."

Meno: "Plato. Meno." - You may also want to try books on the Platonic Dialogues in general: "Plato. Dialogues."

Nicomachean Ethics: "Aristotle. Nicomachean Ethics."

The Aeneid: "Virgil. Aeneis.

WorldCat (FirstSearch) — If you can't find enough information in the Mercer University Libraries, search here to locate books around the world. As demonstrated in class, you can request these books, and we will have them shipped here for you to use, at no cost to you. Remember that this process takes time - any ILL book requests should be submitted before the end of spring break!

Articles:

Philosopher's Index (EBSCO) — Full text is minimal, but there are a lot of good sources in this database for the philosophical works. Find the link to search for your work as a subject! Remember that it only takes a couple of clicks to get an article in full text!

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) — You should be able to find some articles on any of the works - make sure to limit to scholarly sources! Again, find the link to search for your work as a subject.

Research Library (ProQuest) — Another database that should have articles on any of these works. Use the advanced search screen and be sure to add limits for peer-reviewed, article, and English-language sources.

JSTOR — Only scholarly sources, and in massive amounts. The trick with this database is constructing a good search string - remember the strategies we discussed in class! Also remember that this database has a lot of historical content, so it's a good idea to limit your search results by year. I would recommend going back no further than 30 or 40 years.

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) — Included for the students researching Virgil's Aeneid. There may be an article or two for the philosophical works, but it's unlikely. Again, there is not a lot of full text, but remember that you can find some of these articles in our other databases, or request them via ILL.

Wiley Online Library — I find the search interface frustrating, but there are articles about all of these works in this database as well. Remember that you will only have full-text access for articles with an "unlocked" icon.