GBK 202 Harper

last modified 2019-06-11T15:44:02-04:00

This guide is meant to help you with your Game Bio assignment. If you need further research help, you can also Ask a Librarian online, through email, by phone, or in-person at the reference desk for assistance.

Resources in the University Library

Databases:

Discovery - an EBSCO service allowing you to search multiple databases and the library catalog simultaneously. This is a great place to start searching, but I strongly recommend checking the databases listed below, as well.

JSTOR - This database provides access to complete back files of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Arts & Humanities (ProQuest) — Includes hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.

Suggested Books:

Who's Who in the Greek World - contains very brief entries on selected Greeks.

The People of Plato by Debra Nails - contains entries on each named person from Plato's dialogues

Lysias translated by S.C. Todd - contains the complete writings of Lysias, a prolific orator with many encounters with contemporaries. Many of these writings are also available in the Perseus Digital Library.

Reference Works:

The Cambridge Dictionary of Classical Civilization

The Oxford Classical Dictionary

The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature

Other Online Resources

Internet Classics Archive - Offers 441 works of classical literature by 59 different authors, mainly Greco-Roman works (some Chinese and Persian), all in English translation. The Archive is searchable, and includes a list of links to other resources.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy - The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy - provides open access to detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy

Perseus Digital Library - Sponsored by Tufts University, this site includes a digital library that provides a variety of resources on the ancient world from primary texts to site plans. This library is fully searchable, with extensive cross-referencing.

Suggested titles from Perseus Digital Library

Lives of Eminent Philosophers by Diogenes Laertius

The Peloponnesian War by Thucydides

Hellenica by Xenophon

A Dictionary of Greek and Roman Biography and Mythology