GBK 101 - Good

last modified 2019-10-15T15:21:37-04:00
This page is to help you with your Current Issues Research Assignment in GBK 101.

Your Assignment

Research-Assisted Reflection on a Current Event: Find, consult, and cite correctly three secondary sources in
support of a thesis. Quote texts directly at least five times in at least three different ways (as discussed in class). Quote
your secondary sources at least twice.

Relate our Thucydides readings or Plato’s Apology to a contemporary issue. Describe a current or recent episode
involving diplomacy, international conflict, or public contention, and reflect on it in either Thucydidean or Platonic
terms. What does the current/recent event share with the event(s) narrated by Thucydides or with Plato’s Apology?
Might “ancient wisdom,” or at least the experience pondering Thucydides/Plato, enable a clearer consideration of your
issue, and perhaps even point to a potential resolution?

Scholarly Secondary Databases

For Plato/Thucydides
  • JSTOR — An online archive containing back issues of scholarly journals in many disciplines.
  • Project MUSE (Standard Collection) — This is an interdisciplinary collection of high quality, peer reviewed journals extensively in the humanities and social sciences.
  • Philosopher's Index (EBSCO) — Covers the fifteen fields of philosophy: aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion. The Philosopher's Index contains research published since 1940 including nearly 570 journals from 43 countries with content representing a variety of languages.
For Current Events
  • Hein Online — An image-based collection of legal periodicals, including the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library.
  • Westlaw Campus Research: Law, News & Business — A comprehensive database of legal materials including federal and state statutes, codes, regulations, and case law materials. Also includes a number of newspapers, magazines, trade journals, and company information, making it a great resource for business and criminal justice students.
  • Peace Research Abstracts (EBSCO) — Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
  • Political Science (ProQuest) — Covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics.

Reliable News Databases

  • International Newsstream (ProQuest) — Provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. Includes more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
  • New York Times (ProQuest) — Coverage: 1851-2013. Includes all the articles published since the first issue of the paper in 1851. Provides full text and full image articles with digital reproductions of every page, every article and every issue in PDF format. In addition to news stories, includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements. You can browse issues by selecting "Publications" above the search box.
  • Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) — Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources. It includes full text for more than 1,200 newspapers, more than 40 news magazines, news from more than 130 newswires, and more than 1.8 million television and radio news transcripts.

Statistics

  • Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) — A resource that includes authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, ProQuest now updates and publishes this resource monthly.

You can also find research guidance and databases on specific areas of the world (like Latin America & Iberia (ProQuest), Turkey (ProQuest), or East & South Asia (ProQuest)) on the International and Global Studies research guide.