Research Skills

last modified 2018-05-07T12:33:46-04:00
Articles

Academic/Scholarly Journals

From the library homepage:

  1. Find Databases, Browse by title, click on A for:
    1. Academic Search Complete
    2. Choose Databases by Subject
    3. Limit by document type farther on down the screen
      1. Check the Peer Reviewed box
      2. Limit by date

BEFORE you enter search terms or limiters—click on “Choose Databases.”

 

Then check the boxes in front of as many subjects that could be in any way connected to your topic. Then click OK.

Now, to see all of the databases that you are searching, click on “Show All.”  To hide them, click on "Show Less."

 

You are now ready to enter your search terms, select the peer reviewed box, and type in your date range. Then click “Search.”

*To reduce the number of results, see Search Tips*

Magazines or Newspapers

From the library homepage:

  1. Find Databases, Browse by title,
    1. click on S for Student Research Center (scroll down to the last database)
    2. Advanced Search
      1. Limit by document type→
        • uncheck all, then check only Magazines & Newspapers
      2. Limit by date

Books

Go to the library homepage

Click on Find ► Books & more, Advanced  Search

OR

Click on Find ►Databases, Browse by Title, E for:

  • Ebooks by EBSCOhost

OR

  • Ebrary

Two places to look to see if the book will help you—works for all books, including paper books and electronic (online) books:

 1.    Table of Contents

  • In front of book
  • Shows you the way the book is organized (chapters, etc.)  what it covers
  • Gives page #

 2.    Index

  • In back of book
  • Look up keyword(s) in alphabetical order
  • Gives page #

No Full Text

If you find an article that you like, but it is not available in full text, you can easily look for the journal--that the article is in--in a different database:

 

•  Copy the journal title (NOT the article title)

•  In a new window, go to the library home page

•  From the Find box, click on the Journals tab

•  Paste the journal title into the box, and click Search

 

If the library has access to this journal, it will give you links to other databases.  Be sure to look at the date range to the left of the link to make sure it covers the date of the article you want. 

Click the title of the database.  

You are now inside the journal.  Click on--or search for--the year, date, or volume/number you want (you may have to click on “Archive” or “Previous Issues” first). Then look for the page number where the article starts.  Click on the full text icon.

Peer Reviewed

According to ProQuest—a vendor that owns many databases:

A peer reviewed journal is one in which articles go through an official editorial process that involves review and approval by the author's peers (people who are experts in the same subject area). Most (but not all) scholarly publications are peer reviewed. Some trade publications [including some professional magazines] are peer reviewed.

 

According to the University of Texas Libraries:

Peer review is a process that journals use to ensure the articles they publish represent the best scholarship currently available. When an article is submitted to a peer reviewed journal, the editors send it out to other scholars in the same field (the author's peers) to get their opinion on the quality of the scholarship, its relevance to the field, its appropriateness for the journal, etc.

Saving...

You can save any articles you want (so you won’t have to do the search over). 

  • From inside any database owned by EBSCO, click on “Sign In” near the top right of the screen. 
  • The very first time, click on “Create a New Account,” fill out the form, and then click “Save Changes” at the bottom of the form.
  • Then click “Back” to go back to where you were.

You can save in 3 different ways:

  • Individual articles—click the “Add to Folder” icon under the citation for the article you want to add to your folder
    • OR
  • Several articles, one results page at a time—click “Alert / Save / Share,” then click the blue “Results” link
    • OR
  • The entire search, including terms and limiters—click “Alert / Save / Share,” then click the blue link following ‘Add search to folder.’
Search Tips

Search Tips

  • Date range
  • Peer Reviewed
  • Put quotation marks “…” around a phrase
  • Use * for a truncation symbol / wildcard

 To reduce the number of results:

  • Add another key word—
    • click on “Add a row
  •  In the date range, change the beginning year to a later one
  • Use ‘Select a Field’
    • TI Title