HIS 201 Dowling

last modified 2019-09-24T08:40:42-04:00
You can use this page to find guidance on researching on ancient civilizations (3500 BCE to 350 BCE), including finding secondary sources. There is also guidance on researching greek military shields.
Primary Source Analysis

Assignment:

Research ONE primary source from one of the societies we have studied (e.g. an early Mesopotamian society, Egypt, the "Coastal" Peoples, and the Hebrews/Israelites) before 500 BCE and using the databases available on the library website (link on Canvas).  You should then analyze it using the Primary Source Exercise Sheet introduced in class and available for download on Canvas. After you have completed the sheet, compose a short, 250-350-word analysis that addresses what the source is, what the authors motives/agenda may have been, and what it tells us about the society in which it was created.  

Helpful Resources:

The primary sources for this assignment must come from the periods from weeks 1-3: Ancient Civilizations, the Babylonians, the Egyptians, or the Israelites. This means you need to find primary sources written before 500 BCE.

Some great places to find primary sources for this period are listed below:

Historical Analysis Assignment

Assignment:

After Fall Break, you will receive a revised description of an object to work with. Using only the description and photos provided in the description, your task is to analyze the object in historical context. What was the object for? What does the object mean? What does it tell us about the society that create it? Why is it important? How does it help you understand the culture we’ve been learning about better? You may use any texts or lectures from class but you are also required to research and find at least one credible academic source (book or article) to help you analyze your object. You should use the databases compiled by Ms. Bailey to locate your academic source. You will be required to run your source by me for verification.

Helpful Resources:

Finding secondary sources...

  • JSTOR — An online archive containing back issues of scholarly journals in many disciplines.
  • Project MUSE (Standard Collection) — This is an interdisciplinary collection of high quality, peer reviewed journals extensively in the humanities and social sciences.
  • History Reference Center (EBSCO) — Features full text for more than 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, as well as full text for more than 120 history periodicals. Further, the database contains 59,640 historical documents; more than 50,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 110,200 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.
  • Arts & Humanities (ProQuest) — Includes hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
  • Art and Architecture Source — Art & Architecture Source is the largest full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. With strong international coverage, it offers hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts and thousands of images.
Shield: Aspis

Assignment:

You must produce, at full scale, a replica of an aspis. It should be made of suitable materials such that it can withstand a phalanx roleplay. Using class materials and at least one source you researched (again use the class databases), design and execute your shield front. It should be historically appropriate. Prof. Blackburn will talk to the class about re-creation of historical objects. Use his advice. This is part of your final project and needs to be planned well in advance. I will ask to see materials periodically throughout the semester. You will be graded on the historical accuracy (within reason for the chosen medium) and creativity in applying historical principles with modern materials and limitations.

Helpful Resources:

Images of shields...