HIS 110R-Dr. Dowling

by Gretchen M. Smith last modified 2016-09-29T11:37:02-04:00
Finding Articles and Books

Discovery - an EBSCO service allowing you to search multiple databases and the library catalog simultaneously. This is a great place to start searching, but I strongly recommend checking the databases listed below, as well.

JSTORThis database provides access to complete back files of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. NOTE: JSTOR is primarily useful for locating older articles. This database is included in Discovery, but I recommend searching it separately.

America: History and Life (EBSCO) — Contains journal citations on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It includes indexing for 1700 English language historical journals, including selected local history journals. The database also includes citations to dissertations and book reviews in American and Canadian history.

 Primary Sources

New York Times (ProQuest) — Coverage: 1851-2011. Includes all the articles published since the first issue of the paper in 1851. Provides full text and full image articles with digital reproductions of every page, every article and every issue in PDF format. In addition to news stories, includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements. You can browse issues by clicking Publications at the top of the screen.

Online Documents from the National Archives - Documents and photographs related to the Tuskegee Syphilis Study available online from the National Archives.

National Archives at Atlanta - The National Archives branch located in Morrow, GA has the bulk of the records related to the Tuskegee Syphilis Study. It is always a good idea to contact an archive or library before visiting to get information about guidelines for researchers and to verify that the materials you want to see are available.

Contact a Librarian

You can contact me directly by phone or email. I am ususally available Monday-Friday, 8:00am-5:00pm.
Gretchen Smith
301-2193

You can also use our Ask Jack services. Any of our librarians can help you with this assignment.
Email: Phone: 301-2055