HIS 105 Dowling

last modified 2018-10-03T14:08:53-04:00
Resources for the assignments in Dr. Dowling's History 105 class.
Assignment 1

Your Assignment

This assignment asks you to examine a primary source written by Pliny the Elder, and part of the process is understanding historical contexts in the period. Here, we have provided you with 2 recent popular sources and 6 recent scholarly sources that will help you understand those contexts.

Popular Secondary

Dennis, Jerry. 1995. "Pliny's world: All the facts--and then some.Smithsonian 26, no. 8: 152. Advanced Placement Source, EBSCOhost (accessed August 18, 2018).

Scishow. "Pliny the Elder: Great Minds." YouTube video, 4:23, August 1, 2013. https://youtu.be/iUMVf8bkUQE.

 

Scholarly Secondary:

Carey, Sorcha. “In Search of the Invisible Man.” In Pliny’s Catalogue of Culture: Art and Empire in the Natural History. Oxford: Oxford UP, 2006.

Jones-Lewis, Molly Ayn. "Poison: Nature's Argument for the Roman Empire in Pliny the Elder's Naturalis Historia." Classical World 106, no. 1: 51-74. Project MUSE.

Laehn, Thomas. “Plinian Man.” In Pliny’s Defense of Empire. New York: Routledge, 2013.

Naas, Valerie. “Chapter Four: Imperialism, Mirabilia, and Knowledge: Some Paradoxes in the Naturalis Historia.” In Pliny the Elder: Themes and Contexts, edited by Ruth Morello and Roy Gibson, 57-70. Boston: Brill, 2011.

Pollard, Elizabeth Ann. 2009. "Pliny's Natural History and the Flavian Templum Pacis: Botanical Imperialism in First-Century C.E. Rome." Journal Of World History 20, no. 3: 309-338. History Reference Center, EBSCOhost (accessed August 18, 2018).

Wallace-Hadrill, Andrew. "Pliny the Elder and Man's Unnatural History." Greece & Rome 37, no. 1: 80-96. JSTOR.

Assignment 3

Your Assignment

This assignment asks you to create an illustrated pamphlet or poster from the witch trials in seventeenth-century Braunschweig, Germany. This page contains secondary sources and example woodcuts/broadsides that will help you understand the contexts and creative styles of the period.

Prints:

Bisschop, Jan de and Leyden, Lucas van. A witch riding through the air on a dragon, after Lucas van Leyden. 1643-1671. Print. 16.3 x 11.3 cm. British Museum, Dept. of Prints and Drawings, 1895-9-15-1122. https://library-artstor-org.proxy-s.mercer.edu/asset/AGERNSHEIMIG_10311312532.

Hort an new schrecklich abenthewr Von den vnholden vngehewr. Circa 1600. Print. 23.3 x 29 cm. British Museum, Dept. of Prints and Drawings, 1880-0710.582. http://www.britishmuseum.org/research/collection_online/collection_object_details.aspx?objectId=1428275&partId=1&searchText=german&subject=16160&page=1.

Sih, wie die Teüfflich hexen rott.... Circa 1630. Print. 23.5 x 27.9 cm. British Museum, Dept. of Prints and Drawings, 1880,0710.574. http://www.britishmuseum.org/research/collection_online/collection_object_details.aspx?objectId=1452389&partId=1&searchText=german&subject=16160&page=1.

Secondary Sources:

Scribner, Bob. “Witchcraft and judgement in reformation Germany.” History Today 40, no. 4 (1990): 12-19. http://proxy-s.mercer.edu/login?qurl=http%3a%2f%2fsearch.ebscohost.com%2flogin.aspx%3fdirect%3dtrue%26db%3dkhh%26AN%3d9005212566%26site%3deds-live%26scope%3dsite.

Scribner, Robert W. 1981. For the Sake of Simple Folk : Popular Propaganda for the German Reformation. Cambridge Studies in Oral and Literate Culture: 2. Cambridge [England] ; New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, 1981. On reserve at Tarver.

Rowlands, Alison. “Gender, Ungodly Parents and a Witch Family in Seventeenth-Century Germany.” Past & Present 232, no. 1 (2016): 45-86. http://proxy-s.mercer.edu/login?qurl=http%3a%2f%2fsearch.ebscohost.com%2flogin.aspx%3fdirect%3dtrue%26db%3dedb%26AN%3d118532099%26site%3deds-live%26scope%3dsite.

Dillinger, Johannes. “The Political Aspects of the German Witch Hunts.” Magic, Ritual, & Witchcraft 4, no. 1 (2009): 62-81. http://proxy-s.mercer.edu/login?qurl=http%3a%2f%2fsearch.ebscohost.com%2flogin.aspx%3fdirect%3dtrue%26db%3dlfh%26AN%3d37792990%26site%3deds-live%26scope%3dsite.

Weber, Johannes. “Strassburg, 1605: The Origins of the Newspaper in Europe.” German History 24, no. 3 (2006): 387-412. http://proxy-s.mercer.edu/login?qurl=http%3a%2f%2fsearch.ebscohost.com%2flogin.aspx%3fdirect%3dtrue%26db%3da9h%26AN%3d21466841%26site%3deds-live%26scope%3dsite.

Assignment 4

The final project for your History 105 class involves finding primary and secondary sources based on a topic from the list below. Also, to help you with your assignment, you'll find the full text of your prompt and a worksheet to guide you through evaluating primary and secondary sources.

Your Assignment                              Guidelines for Primary vs Secondary Source

Possible Topics:

Pay attention to the time period for each topic!

Ancient Greco-Roman medicine and epidemics (600 BCE-500 CE)

Christian interpretation of Greco-Roman science (300 CE – 1300 CE)

Islamic interpretation of Greco-Roman science (700 CE – 1400 CE)

Jewish physicians in medieval Europe (1100 CE – 1500 CE)

Christianity and the Scientific Revolution (1350-1700 CE)

Early modern physics or chemistry experiments (1500 – 1800 CE)

Early modern anatomy (1500-1850 CE)

Environment, Science, & the Industrial Revolution (1750-1900 CE)

Christian interpretation of modern science (1850-1950 CE)

War, science, and medicine (1850-1989 CE)

Modern medical experimentation (1850-1970 CE)

Databases:

The list of history-specific databases can be found here. Below, you will find a list of databases from other disciplines that relate to your project:

General Databases:

JSTOR — An online archive containing back issues of scholarly journals in many disciplines.

ATLA Religion with ATLA Serials PLUS (EBSCO) — Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS provides coverage extending back into the 19th century with 1881 as the earliest date of coverage. ATLAS PLUS includes 450 full-text journals in many diverse areas of religion and theology, with full-text content in 16 languages from more than 33 different countries. ATLAS PLUS includes all of the titles in ATLA’s original full-text product, ATLASerials and 120+ additional full-text titles.

Project MUSE (Standard Collection) — This is an interdisciplinary collection of high quality, peer reviewed journals extensively in the humanities and social sciences.

History Reference Center (EBSCO) — Features full text for more than 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, as well as full text for more than 120 history periodicals. Further, the database contains 59,640 historical documents; more than 50,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 110,200 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.

Science Databases:

Health and Medical Collection (ProQuest) — Provides in-depth coverage from over 1,500 publications with almost 1,300 available in full text and of these, over 900 include MEDLINE® indexing. In addition, the database includes all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to medical research. The journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others.

PubMed (NLM) — NLM search engine for Medline and OldMedline databases. This customized portal will identify references for fulltext that is available for free on the Internet and via the library.

Environmental Science Collection (ProQuest) — Contains environmental science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, environmental impact statements, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM). ESPM provides unparalleled and comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences drawn from over 10,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.

AGRICOLA (EBSCO) — Contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library and covers every major agricultural subject. The citations consist of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, theses, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, patents, software, and other materials on a broad range of agricultural topics.

Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index (EBSCO) — Provides citations to articles about gardens and plants, including topics such as horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design & history, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy. A highlight of the database is its focus on environmentally sustainable horticultural and design practices.

Web of Science — Provides detailed citations and abstracts for the top scholarly periodicals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers both domestic and international journals, open access resources, books, patents, proceedings, and Web sites.

Open Access Primary Sources:

The Perseus Digital Library — A digital repository of texts by and on the Ancient Greeks and Romans. Some primary texts are only in Greek or Latin, but a large number do have English translations,

The Digital Scriptorium — A growing consortium of libraries and museums committed to free online access to their collections of pre-modern manuscripts. You can also visit the British Library's Catalogue of Illuminated Manuscripts.

The Internet History Sourcebooks Project — Maintained by Fordham, this is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts, in Ancient, Medieval, and Modern History, presented cleanly for educational use.

The Wellcome Collection — A free museum and library in England that focuses on science, medicine, life, and art. They hold a generous digitized collection of broadsides and alchemical manuscripts (example here), some of which are featured on the Public Domain Review's The Surreal Art of Alchemical Diagrams. You can also view scans from the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library's exhibition Book of Secrets: Alchemy and the European Imagination, 1500-2000.

The National Library of Medicine's History of Medicine — This source collects, preserves, makes available, and interprets for diverse audiences one of the world's richest collections of historical material related to human health and disease.

AMDOCS — Also known as Documents for the Study of American History, this resource supplies primary texts from the 9th century on to the 1980's, in chronological order, on the history of the Americas. These resources include maps, excerpts from letters and speeches, personal accounts, constitutions, and many other outstanding primary texts.

Eurodocs — BYU's Online Sources for European History has sources spanning ancient European history up to the rise of the European Union, browsable by time period or particular country.