HIS 105 Dowling

last modified 2019-11-21T17:46:08-04:00
Resources for your final assignment in Dr. Dowling's History 105 class.

The final project for your History 105 class involves finding primary and secondary sources based on a topic from the list below. Also, to help you with your assignment, you'll find the full text of your prompt and a worksheet to guide you through evaluating primary and secondary sources.

Your Assignment

Guidelines for Primary vs Secondary Sources

Possible Topics:

Pay attention to the time period for each topic!

Ancient Greco-Roman medicine and epidemics (600 BCE-500 CE)
Primary Databases:
Secondary Databases:
Helpful Books:

Islamic interpretation of Greco-Roman science (700 CE – 1400 CE)

*note for students searching: you may have more success searching for the name of a Greek/Roman scientist (for example Galen, Hippocrates, or Herophilius) in connection with Islam.

Primary Databases:
Secondary Databases:
  • JSTOR — An online archive containing back issues of scholarly journals in many disciplines. This link is particularly for their section on the History of Science and Technology.
  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) — Provides abstracts and indexing for over 3,800, as well as full text for over 3,200 scholarly journals and general magazines.
  • ATLA Religion with ATLA Serials PLUS (EBSCO) — Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS provides coverage extending back into the 19th century with 1881 as the earliest date of coverage. ATLAS PLUS includes 450 full-text journals in many diverse areas of religion and theology, with full-text content in 16 languages from more than 33 different countries. ATLAS PLUS includes all of the titles in ATLA’s original full-text product, ATLASerials and 120+ additional full-text titles.
Helpful Books:

Jewish physicians in medieval & early modern Europe (1100 CE – 1750 CE)
Primary Databases:
Secondary Databases:
  • JSTOR — An online archive containing back issues of scholarly journals in many disciplines. This link is particularly for their section on the History of Science and Technology.
  • Science (ProQuest) — With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text.
  • Journal: Aleph: Historical Studies in Science and Judaism —Explores the interface between Judaism and science and studies the interactions between science and Judaism throughout history. 
Helpful Books:

Environment, Science, & the Industrial Revolution (1750-1900 CE)
Primary Databases:
Secondary Databases:
  • Environmental Science Collection (ProQuest) — Contains environmental science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, environmental impact statements, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM). ESPM provides unparalleled and comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences drawn from over 10,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
  • America: History and Life (EBSCO) — Contains journal citations on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It includes indexing for 1700 English language historical journals, including selected local history journals. The database also includes citations to dissertations and book reviews in American and Canadian history.
  • JSTOR — An online archive containing back issues of scholarly journals in many disciplines.
Helpful Books:

War, science, and medicine (1850-1989 CE)

*note for students searching: you may have success searching for the name of a war (Crimean, Civil War, WWI, WWII) in connection with medicine.

Primary Databases:
Secondary Databases:
  • Military (ProQuest) — Covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.
  • PubMed (NLM) — NLM search engine for Medline and OldMedline databases. This customized portal will identify references for fulltext that is available for free on the Internet and via the library.
Helpful Books:

Modern medical experimentation (1850-1970 CE)

*note for students searching: you may have success searching for the name of an experiment or experimenter (James Marion Sims, Nuremburg, Emma Eckstein) in connection with history.

Primary Databases:
Secondary Databases:
  • PubMed (NLM) — NLM search engine for Medline and OldMedline databases. This customized portal will identify references for fulltext that is available for free on the Internet and via the library. 
  • ScienceDirect (Elsevier) — Elsevier's e-journal/e-book platform.
  • JSTOR — An online archive containing back issues of scholarly journals in many disciplines. This link is particularly for their section on the History of Science and Technology.
Helpful Books: