AFR/HIS 363 Harper

last modified 2019-06-24T09:33:53-04:00
Research Starters

Below are the project options for your class and a list of resources on where to start your research. This is by no means exhaustive and some resource swill be helpful for most projects, like Macon Black and White by Andrew Manis (on reserve at Tarver Library). For more options, check some of the other resources in this guide and look for secondary sources in the Mercer University Library website.

  1. Henry McNeal Turner, Theophilus Steward, and the political organizing of Macon's Reconstruction-era ministers.
  2. Black soldiers in the Civil War/ the African Brigade
    • Contact Lonnie Davis for more information. He is a park ranger at Ocmulgee National Monument and an amateur historian, specializing in this topic.
    • Washington Memorial Library has a booklet written by him that can provide more information.
  3. Ellen and William Craft
  4. Jefferson Franklin Long and violent assaults on black voters during Reconstruction
  5. Georgia's campaign to disfranchise black voters, 1900-1908
  6. Slaves in Bibb County Court deeds
    • Contact Digitizing Black Life in Middle Georgia (Chester Fontenot, Erica Woodford, Adam Griggs)
  7. Municipal-owned slaves
  8. Spanish-American troops (black Middle Georgia volunteers who did not see action in Cuba. Charles Young Camp.)
  9. The Booker T. Washington Community Center (part of a Roosevelt program)
  10. American Missionary Association schools in Middle Georgia
  11. Martin Luther King's visits to Tremont Temple, Steward AME Church, and New Mt. Zion
  12. Macon’s Chapter of NAACP and Civil rights era boycotts and marches
  13. Jarrell Plantation: slaves, emancipation and Reconstruction, black land ownership, Great Migration
    • See Dr. Harper for primary sources
    • 1974 Report by Victoria Reeves Gunn found at the Washington Memorial Library
  14. Great Migration from middle Georgia
  15. Lucy Laney and black women's organizing in 20th century
Georgia Resources

Heading to visit an archive either at Tarver or elsewhere?  Check out this handy guide on what you need to do to prepare for your visit.

Find an archive in Georgia - The Historical and Cultural Organizations Directory provides links and information for over 600 cultural and historical institutions statewide. This includes archives, libraries, museums, historical societies, and historic sites.

Georgia's Virtual Vault - This is your portal to some of Georgia's most important historical documents, from 1733 to the present. The Virtual Vault provides virtual access to historic Georgia manuscripts, photographs, maps, and government records housed in the state archives.


In and around Macon

Middle Georgia Archives, Washington Memorial Library - The Middle Georgia Archives is devoted to documenting the history of Middle Georgia and to serving as a resource center for archival and manuscript collections in Middle Georgia.

Mercer University, Special Collections (Baptist and University Archives) - Mercer University maintains a library and archives of primary and secondary research materials related to the university and the Baptist community. The collection is located on the third floor of Mercer University's Tarver Library.

Special Collections, Georgia College and State University - Located in Milledgeville, GCSU's holdings include the Flannery O’Connor collection, Paul D. Coverdell collection, local and regional historical collections, Georgia College Archives, rare books and the Flannery O’Connor Room.

Georgia Archives - Located a short drive away in Morrow, the Georgia Archives identifies, selects, preserves, and makes accessible records that constitute Georgia's recorded history. 

Digital Archives

The Digital Library of Georgia - Initiative based at the University of Georgia Libraries that collaborates with Georgia's Libraries, archives, museums, and other institutions of education and culture to provide access to key information resources on Georgia history, culture, and life.

New Georgia Encyclopedia - Contains many detailed articles related to Georgia, its history and people. The articles each have extensive bibliographies for finding more resources.

Hathi Trust - Offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. These resources come from contributing organizations such as university libraries, which include many primary source documents and other scholarly materials. The Hathi Trust categorizes its materials using subject headings like those found in a library catalog. 

Digital Public Library of America - The DPLA aggregates millions of documents from its member institutions (of which the Hathi Trust is a member). These can be searched using keywords and narrowing it down by collection and by organization. 

Library of Congress Digital Collections - Historical collections (primary documents, sound recordings, images, maps, etc.) that include such topics as advertising, African American history, and women's history.

Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936 to 1938 - Part of the Library of Congress Digital Collections that contains first person accounts from people who lived as slaves all over the South. The documents are arranged by state.

Documenting the American South - Sponsored by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, this site includes digitized primary sources from several collections. Items include texts, images, and audio files related to Southern history, literature, and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century.

Samuel J. May Anti-Slavery Collection - A rich and diverse set of materials from Cornell University on the anti-slavery movement of the 1800’s. Over 10,000 pamphlets and articles cover local and national topics.

New York Public Library Digital Collections - Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Division - The NYPL Digital Collections is a contributor to the DPLA, but their website is particularly useful for browsing their subject specific collections and some items and documents are not found in other platforms. They have many relevant international records, from books and magazines to letters and plantation records.

Audio/Visual Resources

Civil Rights Digital Library The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale.

Vanishing GeorgiaThe Vanishing Georgia Photographic Collection of almost 18,000 images is the result of a Georgia Archives project begun in the mid-1970s to locate and copy historically significant photographs held by individuals throughout Georgia.

Historic Newspapers

Macon Telegraph Archive - Provides online access to early issues of the Macon Telegraph in its various daily and weekly forms from 1826-1908. Consisting of over 50,000 newspaper pages, the archive provides historical images that are both full-text searchable and can be browsed by date. NOTE: you will need to download a free plugin to view these pages. In addition, the newspaper is available on microfilm (through 2006) on the first floor of Tarver.

Mercer Cluster - You can now search the first 50 years of The Mercer Cluster (1920-1970) online. The archive provides historical images that are both full-text searchable and can be browsed by date.

Georgia Historic Newspapers — The Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive is a project of the Digital Library of Georgia (DLG), a part of Georgia’s Virtual Library GALILEO and is based at the University of Georgia Libraries. Since 2007, the DLG has partnered with universities, archives, public libraries, historical societies, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions to digitize historical newspapers from around the state. The archive is free and open for public use and includes over one million Georgia newspaper pages between 1786 and 1986.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers — Project run by the Library of Congress that contains scanned newspapers from all over the country from between 1789-1963.