Theater

last modified 2019-05-31T14:38:29-04:00

 Databases

  1. Kanopy Video Streaming — Kanopy is a video streaming solution for colleges offering a "Netflix-like" user experience and a broad selection of documentaries, feature films and training videos from thousands of producers. Touching on all topics, featured producers in Kanopy's collection include Criterion Collection, PBS, HBO, The Video Project, New Day Films, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features, BBC, and many more. Films can be watched from anywhere, anytime by all staff and students.
  2. International Bibliography of Theater & Dance with Full Text (EBSCO) — Articles, essays and book chapters mined from internationally selected publications in drama, dance, media, mime, mixed entertainment, storytelling, music-drama, and puppetry. International Bibliography of Theater & Dance with Full Text includes nearly 100 journal titles and over 120 full-text books not included in Academic Search Complete.
  3. Alexander Street Video — Streaming video collection that includes over 14,000 titles including content from Sony Pictures Classic, BroadwayHD, and Bullfrog Films.
  4. Films On Demand — Films On Demand is a streaming video collection of almost 30,000 educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Producers include Films for the Humanities and Sciences, PBS, A&E, History, ABCNews, BBC, NBC News, Shopware, Biography, National Geographic and others.

Online Resources

  1. The website for PBS's Great Performances includes full length episodes of operas, ballets, symphonies, concerts, musicals, and plays. Current outstanding episodes up for free include Sir Ian McKellen in King Lear, James Earl Jones and Angela Lansbury in Driving Miss Daisy, and Matthew Bourne's Sleeping Beauty.
  2. The Library of Congress's American Variety Stage includes playscripts, motion pictures, playbills, and sound recordings from 1870-1920.
  3. For interesting, insider-perspective on stage and backstage jobs, watch this wonderful series of mini-documentaries from the American Theatre Wing: Working in the Theatre.

Physical Resources

  1. You can find physical copies of plays and scenes in your library under the call number range PN1997-1997.85.