BIO 303 - Microbiology

by TIMMS_GP — last modified 2016-04-28T16:30:19-04:00

This guide will help you find quality information sources for your research in microbiology. You'll be using online databases and print resources to find both primary scholarly research and secondary/review articles.

Jump to:

Take-Home Portion of Exam III
Decipher the Journal Citation
Getting the Full Text Article
Epidemiology Report
Getting Started - Useful Web Sites
Finding Articles
Getting the Full Text Article
Reference Books


Getting Started - Useful Web Sites


Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
The Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR) Series is prepared by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). MMWR is the agency’s primary vehicle for scientific publication of timely, reliable, authoritative, accurate, objective, and useful public health information and recommendations. The data in the weekly MMWR are provisional, based on weekly reports to CDC by state health departments.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
The CDCs collaborate to create the expertise, information, and tools that people and communities need to protect their health – through health promotion, prevention of disease, injury and disability, and preparedness for new health threats. The Diseases and Conditions index provides a brief overview of a multitude of diseases and is useful for identifying key words with which to search in databases.


Finding Articles


Your research for your epidemiology report will require the use of one or more online databases. These resources will help you to find authoritative and reliable sources of information.

PubMed (National Library of Medicine/National Institutes of Health)
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to 1948. PubMed includes some links to full text articles and other related resources.

MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Offered in the familiar EBSCOHost interface, Medline provides extensive indexing for journals in the Biomedical sciences. Contains some full text articles.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
This multi-disciplinary full-text database includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

Web of Science (Web of Knowledge/Thomson Reuters) — Provides detailed citations and abstracts for the top scholarly periodicals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers both domestic and international journals, open access resources, books, patents, proceedings, and Web sites.


Getting the Full Text Article


Many articles are available in full text through our databases. Sometimes, however, a database will provide only citation information (article title, author, journal title, volume no., issue no., and page numbers) for the article that you'd like to read. If you are not sure about the components of a citation, check out the Anatomy of a Journal Citation guide.

 

Quick 'n Easy, 1-2-3:

If you're in a database and you've found a citation with no full text, look for the Find Full Text icon or link which will use our Link Resolver to speedily perform a search of all our electronic holdings for that article in full text.

Linkout

 

1. If full text is available, you'll see a link to the place where it can be accessed:

 

FT Link

 

2. Otherwise, you'll need to try the 'Search the Online Catalog' link to search our print inventory in the library catalog.

3. If we have no access to your article at Mercer, you can use the InterLibrary Loan link (which only shows when there is no online coverage available) to request that we order it. You must check both online and print coverage before requesting InterLibrary loan, because we won't order something we already have. The InterLibrary Loan form requires that you log in, but after that, most of it will be automatically completed for you.

 

Quickish and Almost Easy 1-2-3:

If you don't see a 'Find Full Text' link or if your citation is not in one of our databases, and you need to find the full text article:

1. Check for online access to the journal containing your article using the A-Z e-Journal Locator (e-Journals link on the Library Home Page)
The A-Z e-Journal Locator is a searchable, alphabetical listing of all the e-journals that are provided in full text. You will need the citation information (article title, author, journal title, volume no., issue no., page numbers). Search the A-Z e-Journal Locator by journal title (not the article title) and pay close attention to the coverage dates of the access points provided. Then navigate to the appropriate year/volume, issue, and page number if we have access.

2. Check the library catalog by the title of the journal (e.g. Annual review of microbiology, Perspectives in biology and medicine...).
If the library has the periodical, the catalog will give you information about the dates, volumes, and issues that are available. Do a Journal Title search for the journal title. Journals are shelved alphabetically by title and then chronologically on the first floor of the library.

3. Request a copy from another library
If the library does not have the article (or book) you need and it is not available in full text, we will borrow it from another library for you. Use the Interlibrary Loan service. Ensure that you have completed steps 1 and 2 before requesting ILL - We will not order articles to which we already have access.

Ask a librarian
If you need any help at all, ask for the duty librarian at the Circulation Desk or use the online Ask Us service. Reference Librarians will be happy to assist you in finding the best way to find and retrieve a periodical article. For more in-depth help, schedule a research consultation. I'm at your service.


Useful Reference Sources in the Tarver Library

Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences
Victoria E. McMillan,     Ref QH304 .M36 2001

CASSI – Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index (4 vols.) – Periodical title abbreviations.
Ref Z5523 .C52 1907-2004 pt.1/ pt.2/ pt.3/ pt.4