Physician Assistant

by Louise L. Lowe — last modified 2017-08-22T13:02:43-04:00

 Article Databases

  1. PubMed (NLM) — NLM search engine for Medline and OldMedline databases. This customized portal will identify references for fulltext that is available for free on the Internet and via the library.
  2. CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO) — Search 800 nursing and allied health journals, nursing dissertations, and selected other biomedical journals. Many fulltext articles available. Limited coverage of psychology and management literature is also included.
  3. OVID — Search the Medline and OldMedline databases of almost 5,000 medical journals, with links to full-text articles for 260+ journals.
  4. PsycINFO (EBSCO) — Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals from nearly 50 countries.
  5. ScienceDirect (Elsevier) — Elsevier's e-journal/e-book platform

Evidence-Based Medicine & Clinical Tools

  1. AccessMedicine -Provides access to online versions of medical and clinical texts, images, and videos. Topics include biochemistry, biostatistics, microbiology, ethics, and psychiatry.
  2. ClinicalKey — An online search tool designed to provide answers to clinical questions, providing quick access to Elsevier's clinical diagnosis/point of care information
  3. Cochrane Library (Evidence for healthcare decision-making) (Wiley) — Search for evidence-based information on the effects of health care interventions. Includes full text of reviews in the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
  4. Dynamed Plus (EBSCO) — Medical information database for Point-of-Care reference.
  5. Trip Database —The Turning Research Into Practice (TRIP) database is a medical search engine with a focus on evidence-based medicine (EBM) content
  6. ACP Journal Club — 
  7. VisualDX — A diagnostic decision support system designed by clinicians to aid medical professionals in the diagnosis of visually identifiable diseases.