Informatics

last modified 2019-04-03T14:32:39-04:00

Databases

  1. Science & Technology Collection
    Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications.
  2. Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) — Provides access to quality research journals and publications in areas related to communication and mass media. (This resource is made available to the Mercer community by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities.) 
  3. Web of Science — Provides detailed citations and abstracts for the top scholarly periodicals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers both domestic and international journals, open access resources, books, patents, proceedings, and Web sites.

Health Sciences Databases

  1. CINAHL (EBSCO) — Search 800 nursing and allied health journals, nursing dissertations, and selected other biomedical journals. Many fulltext articles available. Limited coverage of psychology and management literature is also included.
  2. PubMed (NLM) — NLM search engine for Medline and OldMedline databases. This customized portal will identify references for fulltext that is available for free on the Internet and via the Swilley Library.
  3. Consumer Health Complete — Consumer-oriented health content, including full text from many health reference books and encyclopedias and thousands of health reports as well as physician-generated videos and hundreds of medical images and diagrams. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine.
  4. Dynamed Plus — Medical information database for Point-of-Care reference.
  5. AccessMedicine — A full-text resource of over 50 textbooks in clinical and educational medicine. Also has drug information, practice guidelines, quick access to diagnosis and treatment of 800 disorders, diagnostic tests, customizable patient education materials, and health news channels. Image, video, and audio content are available as well.