Sociology

by Jeremy M. Brown last modified 2017-07-21T16:39:46-04:00
Social Sciences and Psychology Databases

Discovery - an EBSCO service allowing you to search multiple databases and the library catalog simultaneously. This service is made available to us through GALILEO, Georgia Library Learning Online, an initiative of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia.

SocINDEX with Full Text 
SocINDEX with Full Text offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.

Sociological Collection 
Provides information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.

Social Science 
Covers many topics including addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, and international relations.

Academic Search Complete 
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 3,800, as well as full text for over 3,200 scholarly journals and general magazines.

JSTOR 
An online archive containing back issues of scholarly journals in many disciplines.

Dissertations and Theses Full Text 
Covers dissertations accepted at accredited U.S. institutions since 1861. It selectively covers Master's theses and Canadian, British, and other international dissertations. Most dissertations since 1997, along with some earlier dissertations, are available in full text.

CQ Researcher 
Coverage of political and social issues, with reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.

LexisNexis Academic 
Many types of publications, virtually all in full text: newspapers (in English, other languages, and translations of international papers), legal news, general interest magazines, medical journals, trade publications, company financial information, transcripts, wire service reports, government publications (such as the federal case law, U.S. Code, Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Testimony, etc.), law reviews, and reference works.

ProQuest Newspapers 
Provides full-text access to five major national newspapers. Coverage includes full-text articles but not advertisements, illustrations, or photographs.

Research Library 
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 2,600, as well as full text for over 1,700 scholarly journals and general magazines. Research Library is an expansion of, and replacement for, the database titled Periodical Abstracts Research II.

Web of Science 
Provides detailed citations and abstracts for the top scholarly periodicals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers both domestic and international journals, open access resources, books, patents, proceedings, and Web sites.

 

 

Subject Librarians

If you need assistance, please Ask Us or contact one of the Social Science Team librarians:

William Brogdon

William Brogdon
Research Services Librarian

Phone: 678-547-6379
E-mail: brogdon_wf@mercer.edu

Florence

Florence Tang 
Research Services Librarian

Phone: 678-547-6261 
E-mail: tang_fy@mercer.edu

 

 

Stephanie Miranda

Stephanie Miranda
Research Services Librarian


Phone: 478-301-5334
E-mail: miranda_sr@mercer.edu

 

SMichaels

Stephen E. Michaels
Team Coordinator

Phone: 678-547-6256
E-mail: michaels_se@mercer.edu