Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Psychology

by Jeremy M. Brown last modified May 23, 2017 04:52 PM
Databases

ProQuest Databases — Search any or all of our ProQuest databases on this platform

Discovery

GALILEO Discovery is an “online library portal to authoritative, subscription-only information that isn’t available through free search engines or Web directories.” Discovery also provides an advanced search option so that the user is able to access multiple databases with a variety of disciplines in one place.

PsycINFO (EBSCO)
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals from nearly 50 countries.

PsycARTICLES (EBSCO)

Contains articles from every journal published by the American Psychological Associations, and is considered one of the best sources of searchable full text articles on current issues in psychology. Most, but not all of the articles in this database can also be accessed through PsycINFO.

PsychiatryOnline (American Psychiatric Publishing)
PsychiatryOnline features the DSM Library (including DSM-V), The American Journal of Psychiatry, and a collection of psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools.

ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Elsevier's e-journal/e-book platform. Elsevier is one of the premier publishers of scientific journals and books.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO)
With more than 470 full-text journals, this collection covers topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

MEDLINE (FirstSearch)
A database of indexed journal citations and abstracts related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences.

JSTOR
An online archive containing back issues of scholarly journals in many disciplines. Materials in this database date back to the 19th century, making it an excellent resource for historical information.

Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)
Covers dissertations accepted at accredited U.S. institutions since 1861. It selectively covers Master's theses and Canadian, British, and other international dissertations. Most dissertations published since 1997, along with some earlier dissertations, are available in full text.

Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO)
Consumer-oriented health content, including full text from many health reference books and encyclopedias and thousands of health reports as well as physician-generated videos and hundreds of medical images and diagrams. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 3,800, as well as full text for over 3,200 scholarly journals and general magazines.

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
Provides access to quality research journals and publications in areas related to communication and mass media.

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCO)
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments and serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest)
A resource that includes authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, ProQuest now updates and publishes this resource monthly.

Librarians

If you need assistance, please Ask Us or contact one of the Social Science Team librarians:

William Brogdon

William Brogdon
Research Services Librarian

Phone: 678-547-6379
E-mail: brogdon_wf@mercer.edu

Florence

Florence Tang 
Research Services Librarian

Phone: 678-547-6261 
E-mail: tang_fy@mercer.edu

SMichaels

Stephen E. Michaels
Team Coordinator

Phone: 678-547-6256
E-mail: michaels_se@mercer.edu

 

 

Course Specific Guides

Clinical Medical Psychology

Personal tools
staff intranet Library Staff