Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Liberal Studies

by Florence Tang last modified Mar 20, 2017 07:42 PM
Databases

Discovery - an EBSCO service allowing you to search multiple databases and the library catalog simultaneously. This service is made available to us through GALILEO, Georgia Library Learning Online, an initiative of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia.

Art Abstracts (Wilson) — Provides indexes and abstracts of articles from art journals published around the world. International coverage includes English-language periodicals as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. In addition to articles, Art Abstracts indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index at Web of Science (Web of Knowledge/Thomson Reuters) — Provides detailed citations and abstracts for the top scholarly periodicals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers both domestic and international journals, open access resources, books, patents, proceedings, and Web sites.

Book Collection: Non-fiction (EBSCO) — Contains abstracts and searchable full text for more than 3,800 popular nonfiction books for youth on core subject areas, as well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills, and more.

Education Full Text (Wilson) — Includes abstracting and indexing of 534 sources; page images and full text from 251 sources. Topics include a wide range of contemporary education issues, including government funding, instructional media, multicultural education, religious education, student counseling, competency-based education, and information technology.

Essay and General Literature Index (Wilson) — Cites thousands of essays, chapters, and articles contained in many anthologies and collections. Emphasis is placed on the humanities and social sciences with subject coverage ranging from literary works, art history, drama, and film.

Hein Online — An image-based collection of legal periodicals, including the Law Journal Library, the Federal Register Library, the Treaties and Agreements Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library.

International Bibliography of Theater & Dance with Full Text (EBSCO) — Articles, essays and book chapters mined from internationally selected publications in drama, dance, media, mime, mixed entertainment, storytelling, music-drama, and puppetry. International Bibliography of Theater & Dance with Full Text includes nearly 100 journal titles and over 120 full-text books not included in Academic Search Complete.

Literature Online Reference Edition (Chadwyck-Healey) — A collection of literary reference and criticism resources, including biographies, author bibliographies, Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), essays from New Essays on the American Novel, and full-text articles from 100+ literature journals.

Oxford Art Online — Provides online access to the entire text of the 34-volume Dictionary of Art plus newly-commissioned articles. The database includes over 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts from prehistory through the present. Through an alliance with The Bridgeman Art Library, the database offers access to over 130,000 searchable images.

Religion (ProQuest) — Covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many, worldwide religions. In addition, there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations.

Religion & Philosophy Collection (EBSCO) — With more than 243 full-text journals, this collection covers topics in spiritual, ethical, philosophical, cultural, and historical aspects of the world's major religions.

Librarians

Macon

Lee Twombly picture

Lee Olson
Outreach & Assessment Librarian

Phone: 478-301-2852
E-mail: olson_lt@mercer.edu

Henry Center

William Brogdon

William Brogdon
Research Services Librarian

Phone: 678-547-6379
E-mail: brogdon_wf@mercer.edu

 

Course Specific Guides
Personal tools
staff intranet Library Staff