Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

History

by Jeremy M. Brown last modified May 23, 2017 02:41 PM
Databases

 These are selected databases related to history topics. For additional resources, see the A to Z database list.

America: History and Life (EBSCO) - A comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Offers abstracts and citations for articles in roughly 1,800 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. Includes citations to book and media reviews from approximately 140 major journals of American history and culture and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) - Provides citation information and abstracts for articles from over 2,600 journals, books, and dissertations published since 1955. Covers all aspects of world history from the fifteenth century forward (excluding the United States and Canada). Publications are in over 40 languages; article titles and abstracts are included in English translation.

JSTOR - Provides access to complete back files of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The University Libraries subscribe to the Arts & Sciences I, II, and III and Health & General Sciences, which include a variety of history journals. 

JSTOR's agreement with publishers includes an updating provision referred to as a "moving wall," which is a fixed period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years that defines the gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR. This database began to include some current content in 2011. The University Libraries are not yet subscribing to this current content. Tarver librarians created this guide to help students using this database.

Ancestry Library Edition - For ancestry/genealogy research. This database combines content from around 4,000 databases. Note: Available on-campus only. 

Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest) - Covers dissertations accepted at accredited U.S. institutions since 1861. Selectively covers Master's theses and Canadian, British, and other international dissertations. Most dissertations since 1997 (and some earlier dissertations) are available in full text.

WorldCat (FirstSearch) - The world's most comprehensive bibliography with entries representing books and other resources spanning 4,000 years of knowledge from libraries around the world.

ArchiveGrid - Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed over three million collection descriptions to this online resource that brings together information about historic documents, personal and family papers, and more.

HarpWeek - Searchable access to Harper's Weekly: 1857-1912. America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper provides information on domestic and foreign life. Users can track the major political, social, and military stories of the day, along with the editorial comment, humor, literature, and even gossip related to them.

Civil War in the American South - A central portal to access digital collections from the Civil War Era (1850-1865) held by members of the Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL). Many special or unique manuscripts, photographs, books, newspapers, broadsides, and other materials have been digitized to provide broader access to these documents. The shared collection continues to grow, providing ready access to a world-class collection of primary source materials from the American Civil War era.

Librarians

If you need assistance, please Ask Us or contact one of the Humanities Team librarians:

Course Specific Guides

HIST 220: Topics in European History

HIS 295: The Historian's Craft

HIST 360: Georgia History 

HIS 110R-Dr. Dowling (Spring 2016)

 

Personal tools
staff intranet Library Staff