Foreign Languages

by Jeremy M. Brown last modified 2017-07-05T15:32:49-04:00
Databases

Fuente Academica (EBSCO) - Spanish
Provides PDF full text for more than 330 scholarly publications covering many areas of academic study including business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology. Content is provided in Spanish from respected publishers worldwide, including Revista de Arquitectura, Estudios Sobre Educacion, Revista de Estudios Hispanicos, Comunicacion y Sociedad, Revista de Ciencia Politica, Revista Historia, and more.

ClasePeriodicia (FirstSearch) - Spanish
These two databases have been combined by the Universidad Nacional Autonóma de México, both containing resources in the humanities and social sciences field from Latin American countries, including over 2,600 scholarly journals published in several languages.

Enciclopedia Moderna (Britannica) - Spanish
Part of Spanish Reference Center, Enciclopedia Moderna includes thousands of encyclopedia articles and images. In addition to encyclopedia content, the resource includes a dictionary, atlas, and timelines. Enciclopedia Moderna is an appropriate resource for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) - multiple languages
This database offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations dating back to the 1920s. Included are over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series, and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from JSTOR's language and literature collection as well as links to full text.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) - multiple languages
This multi-disciplinary full-text database includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

JSTOR - multiple languages
This database provides access to complete back files of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. This database provides archives of 82 journals related to language and literature including PMLA with coverage back to 1889.  JSTOR's agreement with publishers include an updating provision referred to as a "moving wall," which is a fixed period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years, that defines the gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR.  For this reason, JSTOR is mostly useful for historical research.

Web of Science (Web of Knowledge/Thomson Reuters) - multiple languages
Provides detailed citations and abstracts for the top scholarly periodicals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers both domestic and international journals, open access resources, books, patents, proceedings, and Web sites.

Literary Reference Center (EBSCO) - multiple languages
This full-text literary reference database provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day. Information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available elsewhere are provided in this database.

Librarians

If you need assistance, please Ask Us or contact one of the Humanities Team librarians: