Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Christianity/Religion

by Jeremy M. Brown last modified May 23, 2017 02:16 PM
Databases
  • ATLA Religion with ATLA Serials (EBSCO) — This database provides links to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Full-text is provided for more than 266,000 electronic articles and book reviews. Begun in 1949, indexing for some journal titles extends back into the nineteenth century. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA).
  • Religion & Philosophy Collection (EBSCO) — This collection includes nearly 300 full-text journals, with more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, covering topics in spiritual, ethical, philosophical, cultural, and historical aspects of the world's major denominations and religions. Most of the journals are also included in Academic Search Complete; however, some titles are unique to this collection.
  • Oxford Islamic Studies Online — This resource includes reference entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines to provide information and content on Islam. Topics include: global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture.
  • Oxford Biblical Studies Online — This database focuses on resources for the study of the Bible and biblical history.  Authoritative scholarly texts and reference works are integrated with tools that provide ease of research into the background, context, and issues related to the Bible.
  • New Testament Abstracts (EBSCO) — This database contains more than 33,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 12,600 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts. An additional 2,150 articles from more than 500 periodicals in numerous languages are selected for inclusion annually.
  • Old Testament Abstracts (EBSCO) — A product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Biblical Association, this database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Content from over 450 journals is covered. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more.
  • Canterbury Dictionary of Hymnology — This reference resource is targeted for scholars of global hymnody, with information on the hymns of many countries and languages, and a strong emphasis on the historical as well as the contemporary.  This resource contains over 4000 individual entries about hymns of the Judaeo-Christian tradition, from the earliest years to those written today that will be of interest to literary scholars, musicians, church historians, and theologians
  • ARTstor Digital Library — This resource provides over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Please reference the Terms and Conditions for information on how to responsibly use the images in this collection.  This guide provides instructions on navigating ARTstor.  This handouthighlights ARTstor content related to Western and Eastern religious beliefs and traditions, as represented by images of sacred texts, religious iconography, ceremonial objects, and places of worship, including temples, cathedrals, synagogues, churches, and mosques.
  • Catholic Periodicals and Literature Index (EBSCO) — This database includes over 370,000 citations of articles and reviews published in over 200 Roman Catholic periodicals, Papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith.
  • Philosopher's Index (EBSCO) — This database covers the fifteen fields of philosophy: aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion. The Philosopher's Index contains research published since 1940 including nearly 570 journals from 43 countries with content representing a variety of languages.
  • Research Library (ProQuest) — This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 2,800 scholarly journals and general magazines as well as abstracts and indexing for over 4,000 publications from 1971 forward. A separate subject module is available for Religion. This collection includes more than 150 journals, most of them available in full-text; covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many religions; and titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. 
  • Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest) — This multidisciplinary database includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full-text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Also available through this link is the option using the Advanced Search (selecting school name/code) to include and/or limit to doctoral dissertations and/or master’s theses produced by students at the Atlanta campus of Mercer University.
  • Religious and Theological Abstracts — This resource provides objective summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology.
  • Science Citation Index Expanded (Web of Science, Thomson Reuters) — Provides detailed citations and abstracts for the top scholarly periodicals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers both domestic and international journals, open access resources, books, patents, proceedings, and Web sites.
  • JSTOR — This database provides access to complete back files of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. This database provides archives of 31 journals related to including Journal of Biblical Literature with coverage back to 1890. The University Libraries subscribe to the Arts & Sciences I, II, and III and Health & General Sciences.  JSTOR's agreement with publishers includes an updating provision referred to as a "moving wall," which is a fixed period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years, that defines the gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR. This database began to include some current content in 2011. The University Libraries are not yet subscribing to this current content. Tarver librarians created this guide to help students using this database.
  • Digital Karl Barth Library — Features the entire corpus of Karl Barth's Gesamtausgabe - more than 40 volumes of sermons, letters, lectures, conversations, and academic writings.
Course Specific Guides

Macon Guides

REL 130, Engaging the Old Testament:
Engaging the Old Testament (Lewis, Fall 2017)

Bible Translations
Listing of print and electronic translations of the Bible

How to Use Strong's Concordance

Librarians

If you need assistance, please Ask Us or contact one of the Humanities Team librarians:

Personal tools
staff intranet Library Staff