Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Biology

by Jeremy M. Brown last modified May 23, 2017 02:05 PM
Databases

Discovery
GALILEO Discovery is an “online library portal to authoritative, subscription-only information that isn’t available through free search engines or Web directories.” Discovery also provides an advanced search option so that the user is able to access multiple databases with a variety of disciplines in one place.

Web of Science (Web of Knowledge/Thomson Reuters)
Web of Science is probably the best place for you to start your research, because it will help you discover articles in the most prestigious scientific journals. While there's no full text directly available here, there are links to help you find full text and/or request articles through Interlibrary Loan. Note that you can limit your search to specific article types (including review articles), date ranges, languages, etc. using the menu on the left once you have submitted your initial search.

Environment Complete (EBSCO)
Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

Research Library (ProQuest)
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 2,600, as well as full text for over 1,700 scholarly journals and general magazines. Research Library is an expansion of, and replacement for, the database titled Periodical Abstracts Research II.

JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital archive of core journals in various fields, including several ecology titles. Unlike many electronic journal services containing only the most recent years of a publication, JSTOR contains the entire back file. Tarver librarians created this guide to help students using this database.

ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Citations and some full text to high quality science journals published by Elsevier.
Access Alert! The key to knowing if you have access to a particular article is to note the small 'piece of paper' indicator next to each citation. If it's green, you're in business; if it's white you'll need to request it by Interlibrary Loan.

SpringerLink e-Journals
SpringerLink is the platform for accessing online journals and books published by Springer.
Access Alert! The absence of a padlock symbol means that full text is available.

Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library is a multi-disciplinary database that includes full-text journal articles and some full-text reference sources published by Wiley.
Access Alert! An open padlock symbol by an article title means that full text is available.

Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)
Dissertations and Theses Full Text is a multidisciplinary database which includes 2.4 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.

AGRICOLA (EBSCO)
Now provided in the familiar EBSCO interface, this database covers every major agricultural subject including agricultural engineering and marketing, animal breeding, entomology, environmental pollution, farm management, foods and feeds, pesticides, rural sociology, social sciences, veterinary medicine, and water resources. The citations consist of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, and other materials on a broad range of agricultural topics.

Science & Technology Collection (EBSCO)
Contains over 800 full-text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences, and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications. This collection contains many scholarly journals.

MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Provides access to National Library of Medicine's database, as well as links to some full-text articles.

ARTstor Digital Library
This resource provides over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Please reference the Terms and Conditions for information on how to responsibly use the images in this collection.

Librarians

 

Arlene Desselles
Coordinator
Phone: 678-547-6283
E-mail:

Lowe, Louise

Louise Lowe
Phone: (678)547-6207 
E
-mail: lowe_ll@mercer.edu

Julie Huskey

Gail Morton
Phone: 478-301-2251
E-mail: 

Olson, Lee

Lee Olson
Phone: 478.301.2852
E-mail: olson_lt@mercer.edu

 

 

Course Specific Guides

BIO300 Invertebrate Zoology (fall 2013, Smith)

BIO301 Vertebrate Zoology
BIO302 Plant Biology (spring 2015, Huber)

BIO310 Genetics - Ethical Issues Presentation (fall 2014, Wiles)


BIO315 Field Studies in Biology: Coral Reef Ecology (spring 2015, Smith)

BIO361 The Biology of Sex and Gender (spring 2014, Hensel)

Personal tools
staff intranet Library Staff