Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Africana Studies

by Jeremy M. Brown last modified May 23, 2017 01:50 PM
Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) — A multidisciplinary database covering a broad range of topics including African and African American history, literature, culture, and social experience.

Wiley Online Library — Wiley Online Library is a multi-disciplinary database that includes full-text journal articles and some full-text reference sources for a variety of topics and fields.

Auburn Avenue Research Library on African American Culture and History — Consists of guides to archival and manuscript collections held by the Auburn Avenue Research Library on African-American Culture and History, a special library of the Atlanta-Fulton Public Library System. The library's primary source materials document the experiences of African-Americans in Atlanta, the Southeastern region, and throughout the nation. Travel to Atlanta will be necessary to view the full text of most items described in the included guides.

Civil War and the American South — Provides a central portal to access digital collections from the Civil War Era (1850-1865) held by members of the Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL). ASERL members hold deep and extensive collections documenting the history and culture of the American South, developed over hundreds of years to support scholarly research and teaching. Many of the special or unique manuscripts, photographs, books, newspapers, broadsides, and other materials have been digitized to provide broader access to these documents for scholars and students around the world.

History Reference Center (EBSCO) — Features full text for more than 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, as well as full text for more than 120 history periodicals. Further, the database contains 59,640 historical documents; more than 50,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 110,200 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.

Literature Online (ProQuest) — Also called LION, this online resource is for the study and teaching of literature in English. It combines the texts of over 355,000 literary works with a vast library of key criticism and reference resources. The essential criticism and reference resources, including an ever-growing library of full-text journals and author biographies, helps keep you up to date on the latest research into every aspect of literary and linguistic study. The works of many African and African-American authors are included.

Literature Resource Center (Gale) — Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. This database would be of use to those researching the works of African or African American authors, poets, and playwrights.

Literary Reference Center (EBSCO) — This full-text literary reference database provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day. Information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available elsewhere are provided in this database.

America: History and Life (EBSCO) — Contains journal citations on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It includes indexing for 1700 English language historical journals, including selected local history journals. The database also includes citations to dissertations and book reviews in American and Canadian history. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) — Index of literature, languages, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and folklore from over 4,400 journals and serials, as well as books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) — Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research.

Ancestry Library Edition — For ancestry/genealogy research. This database combines content from around 4,000 databases. Note: Available on-campus only.

Librarians
Personal tools
staff intranet Library Staff