University Library Faculty

last modified 2019-09-10T13:43:50-04:00

University Library Mission Statement

The University Library adopted the following statements as our guiding principles in serving the Mercer University and the larger research community.


Advancing the discovery, development, and delivery of scholarship that researchers use to change our world.


Transforming scholars by promoting an innovative and adaptive environment that allows creative, collaborative, and independent learning. We provide tailored, accessible resources through collections, partnerships, and inspired service.


  • Leadership – Proactive, Empowered and an Advocate for the Mercer Library Team. We all serve as leaders. We are one team.
  • Innovation – Creative problem solving, Generating ideas for improvements, as well as, Being agile and having a willingness to adapt.
  • Respect – Assume good intentions, Value diversity, and “Have your back.”
  • Accountability – Responsible for delivering on goals and expectations, Owning solutions, and Expecting excellence in our work.
  • Service – Project positive energy, Start with Yes, and Believe it is possible.


The faculty of the Mercer University Library shall participate in the formulation, modification, and implementation of the policies, procedures, and practices of the Library governing the professional activities, welfare, and such other matters as might pertain to the common professional goals of its membership. The University Library Faculty joins its colleagues in other academic departments in activities that accomplish the mission and goals of Mercer University.


Current University Library Faculty Handbook


2019-2020 Calendar of University Library Faculty Meetings
(via Zoom, unless noted; at 1:30 PM)

2019-2020 Calendar of Executive Committee Meetings
(via Zoom, at 1:30 PM)

  • Sept.18, Henry County RAC
  • Nov. 20
  • Jan. 15, Henry County RAC
  • Mar. 18
  • May 20
  • Sept. 4
  • Oct. 2
  • Nov. 6
  • Dec. 4
  • Jan. 8
  • Feb. 5
  • Mar. 4
  • Apr. 1
  • May 6

2019-2020 Committee Membership

Executive Committee and Officers

  • At-Large Rep.: Kathryn Wright (Chair)
  • At-Large Rep.: Daniel Williams
  • At-Large Rep.:  Theresa Rhodes
  • House of Delegates Rep. (Swilley): Arlene Desselles (2017-2020)
  • Secretary: Kat Harmeyer
  • House of Delegates Rep. (Tarver): Kristen Bailey (2019-2022)
  • House of Delegates Alternate: Florence Tang (2019-2022)
  • Parliamentarian: Adam Griggs


Faculty Welfare and Development Committee:

  • Bethany Havas (2018-2020)
  • Stephanie Miranda (2019-2021)
  • Gretchen Smith (2019-2021)
  • Kathryn Wright, chair (2018-2020)

Promotion Committee:

  • Laura Botts (2019-2021)
  • Molly Kernan (2019-2021)
  • Lee Olson, chair (2018-2020)