University Library Faculty

last modified 2018-05-23T14:48:25-04:00

University Library Mission Statement

The University Library adopted the following statements as our guiding principles in serving the Mercer University and the larger research community.


Advancing the discovery, development, and delivery of scholarship that researchers use to change our world.


Transforming scholars by promoting an innovative and adaptive environment that allows creative, collaborative, and independent learning. We provide tailored, accessible resources through collections, partnerships, and inspired service.


  • Leadership – Proactive, Empowered and an Advocate for the Mercer Library Team. We all serve as leaders. We are one team.
  • Innovation – Creative problem solving, Generating ideas for improvements, as well as, Being agile and having a willingness to adapt.
  • Respect – Assume good intentions, Value diversity, and “Have your back.”
  • Accountability – Responsible for delivering on goals and expectations, Owning solutions, and Expecting excellence in our work.
  • Service – Project positive energy, Start with Yes, and Believe it is possible.


The faculty of the Mercer University Library shall participate in the formulation, modification, and implementation of the policies, procedures, and practices of the Library governing the professional activities, welfare and such other matters as might pertain to the common professional goals of its membership. The University Library Faculty joins its colleagues in other academic departments in activities that accomplish the mission and goals of Mercer University.


Current University Library Faculty Handbook


2017-2018 Calendar of University Library Faculty Meetings
(Location to vary, 1:30 PM)

2017-2018 Calendar of Executive Committee Meetings
(Location TBA, at 1:30 PM)

  • September 13 - Henry (at 1:00PM)
  • November 15 - Macon (at 1:00PM) Thigpen Parsons
  • January 10 (at 1:00PM)
    • (with President and Provost 1:30PM) - Henry Rm 127
  • March 21 - Atlanta
  • May 9 - Henry
  • July 11
  • August 2
  • August 30 (September replacement)
  • October 3
  • November 2
  • December 6
  • January 4
  • February 7
  • March 7
  • April - postponed
  • May 2

2017-2018 Committee Membership


  • Laura Botts, Chair (2016-2018)
  • Jeremy Brown (2016-2018) (Continuing for Rhodes)
  • Florence Tang (2017-2019)


Faculty Welfare and Development:

  • Stephen Michaels (2017-2019)
  • Gail Morton (2017-2019)
  • Lee Olson, Chair (2016-2018)


Executive Committee and Officers

  • Swilley Rep: Kim Eccles (Executive Committee Chair)
  • Tarver Rep: Christian Pham
  • At-Large Rep:  Gretchen Smith
  • Swilley HOD Rep: Arlene Desselles
  • Secretary: William Brogdon
  • Tarver HOD Rep: Molly Kernan
  • HOD Alternate: Christian Pham
  • Parliamentarian: Christian Pham