Guides & Tutorials
If you have any questions that aren't answered by the guides below, please ask a librarian for assistance!
- Off-Campus Access to Resources (video available here) - A short guide on how to access Tarver's databases from off-campus.
- Common Library Terms and Definitions - Not sure what a call number is? Or what embargo means? Wonder no more! Check out this guide to find out what some of those crazy library terms really mean.
- Five Steps to Effective Library Research - This guide breaks the research process down into five simple steps to help make the research process seem like a snap.
- Primary or Secondary Source? - Which came first, primary or secondary, and what does it all mean? This guide explains it all and give you examples to help you find what you need.
- Scholarly, Trade, and Popular Publications - Need to find an academic, peer-reviewed, or scholarly article? Don't know what "trade" source is? Check out this guide to help you identify what they are and how to find them.
- General Search Tips and Strategies - This guide offers some suggestions on how to get started searching for the information that you need and some key features in the databases that you might have missed.
- - Have you been told that the sources you use are crap? This guide can show you how to evaluate and pick sources that will get you an A+ on that next assignment. with the C.R.A.P. Test
- How to Identify Scholarly Articles - Not sure whether or not you have a scholarly article? This guide describes the main features of most academic articles.
- Locating Library Materials in the Catalog (video available here) - Looking for a book on a specific topic? This written guide or video takes you through the steps on how to search the library catalog for the materials that you need.
- A Guide to the Library of Congress Classification System - Not sure what that string of letters and numbers on the spine of your book means? This guide explains how materials in Tarver Library are organized, so you can quickly find your item
- Anatomy of a Journal Citation - A citation is information that can help you locate an article. This guide points out the various parts of a citation and what they mean.
- Locating Full Text Articles (video available here) - Have a citation but not the article? This written guide or video walks you through how to check and see if Tarver has the article that you need and how to get it if we don’t.
- Locating Newspaper Articles - Need to find an article from a newspaper? This guide demonstrates how to find out what newspapers Tarver has access to and where to find them.
- Academic Search Complete (video available here) - this guide demonstrates searching in this multidisciplinary, user-friendly database.
- ARTstor - how to use this database, that provides over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.
- - tips and tricks for using Tarver Library's ebook collection. )
- JSTOR (video available here)- this guide demonstrates searching this resource, containing articles from a variety of disciplines dating back to the 1800’s.
- LexisNexis Academic - learn how to use this database to locate newspaper articles, company profiles, and legal information.
- Web of Science - learn how to use this citation database to find articles in the sciences and humanities.
- ScienceDirect (video available here) - this guide demonstrates searching this publisher-specific database containing primarily scientific, medical and technical information.
- Value Line - learn how to use this database containing information on stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks.
- The Library of American Civilization - this microfiche collection contains materials dealing with American Civilization from the founding of the country through WWI.
The links below will provide examples of how to cite sources in the four main citation styles used at Mercer University. The print versions of the manuals are available at the Circulation Desk for in library use.
Wondering why there are so many different citation styles? Find out here!
Zotero (pronounced "zoh-TAIR-oh") is software that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It's easy to use, lives in your web browser where you do your work, and best of all it's free. This tool will help you keep track of the sources you use for your projects, and also help format the citations!
Prefer a video tutorial? Check these out:
- Getting Started with Zotero for Firefox - learn how to install and start using Zotero for Firefox
- Getting Started with Zotero Standalone - learn how to install and start using Zotero Standalone (Chrome and Safari)
- Citing Items with Zotero's Word Add-In - learn how to use the Microsoft Word Add-In to cite sources while writing a paper
- Zotero Groups - create and join Zotero Groups for collaborative research projects
- Zotero for Mac and Safari Users - Use a Mac? This video will show you how to install and use Zotero Standalone for Safari.