INT Subject Guide
Amy Gratz is the Subject Librarian for the Integrative Program; she will be glad to answer your questions about research, instruction or the library's collections. You can contact Amy by e-mail or phone, or visit her in person at the Tarver Library.
Integrative Courses by their nature involve a wide variety of subject areas. In addition to this subject guide, I encourage you to use the subject guides on the previous page - there are a lot of great resources out there!
This page is intended for students in the Integrative Program. There is also a page for faculty.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
This multi-disciplinary full-text database includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Research Library (ProQuest)
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 2,600, as well as full text for over 1,700 scholarly journals and general magazines. Research Library is an expansion of, and replacement for, the database titled Periodical Abstracts Research II.
JSTOR is a digital archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Unlike many electronic journal services containing only the most recent years of a publication, JSTOR contains the entire back file. Tarver librarians created this guide to help students using this database.
Web of Science (Web of Knowledge/Thomson Reuters)
Provides detailed citations and abstracts for the top scholarly periodicals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers both domestic and international journals, open access resources, books, patents, proceedings, and Web sites.
Natural Sciences Databases
Science & Technology Collection (EBSCO)
Contains over 800 full-text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences, and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications. This collection contains many scholarly journals.
Citations and some full text to high quality science journals published by Elsevier. Access is on a rolling basis so coverage will be for the current 5-7 years depending upon the title.
Social Sciences Databases
Social Science Journals (ProQuest)
Covers many topics including addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, and international relations.
Social Sciences Abstracts (EBSCO)
Covers hundreds of periodicals in the social sciences fields. The database includes content on the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
Humanities Abstracts (EBSCO)
Provides abstracts and citations from the scholarly sources and specialized magazines in the humanities. The database includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, book reviews, and original works of fiction, drama, and poetry as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) — Index of literature, languages, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and folklore from over 4,400 journals and serials, as well as books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
Essay and General Literature Index (EBSCO)
Cites thousands of essays, chapters, and articles contained in many anthologies and collections. Emphasis is placed on the humanities and social sciences with subject coverage ranging from literary works, art history, drama, and film.
Fine Arts Databases
NAXOS Music Library
Naxos Music Library is a vast online classical music library, offering streaming access to tens of thousands of CDs. The library offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues plus the complete catalogues or selected titles from over 378 classical, jazz and world music labels with more labels joining every month. Classic pop and rock music as well as Chinese orchestral music are also represented.
CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online)
Provides online access to high-quality art images from around the world contributed and described by leading museums, all rights-cleared for educational use. Every work in CAMIO is represented by at least one high-resolution image and a description. Many have additional views of the work, sound, video and curatorial notes.
Arts of the United States
Over 4000 images of works important to the study of the history of art in the United States. Pieces include architecture, decorative arts, painting, sculpture, graphic arts, photography, and stage and costume design as well as Native American art and artifacts.
Looking for articles? Try the databases linked above - they are much easier to use to find articles! If you're interested in browsing recent publications in a field, you may want to look through our print journal collection or our electronic journal collection. For print journals, search the library catalog by journal title. Electronic journals are located through using the Full Text Electronic Journal List.
Search the library catalog to find books available in the Tarver (Macon), Swilley (Atlanta), and Regional Academic Center (Douglas County, Eastman, and Henry County) Libraries as well as electronic books. Items not available in the Tarver Library can be requested from another library.
Browse Ebrary (full-text electronic books) to find electronic books.
See what new books have been added to Tarver Library's collection by viewing New Acquisitions. If you don't see a title in the list or in the online catalog, new or additional titles that the library should purchase.
Useful Web Sites
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material to assist with many writing projects. Check here for information on how to write in different styles or for different purposes, how to cite sources, and much, much more. The OWL is the academic standard for writing information and assistance.
Mercer University Writing Program - Resources for Students
Created by writing instruction faculty at Mercer, this page has links to a wide variety of useful writing resources that contain information on topics ranging from the writing process to avoiding plagiarism.
Nobel Conference Archives
The Nobel Conference convenes annually at Gustavus Adolphus College in Saint Peter, Minnesota. Speakers, including Nobel laureates, are invited to discuss a variety of scientific topics such as "The Brain and Being Human," "Making Food Good," and "Heating Up: The Energy Debate." Videos of the presentations are available starting from 2005, and other materials and resources are available online starting from 2000. Information about all past conferences, going back to 1965, can be obtained from the College and Lutheran Church Archives.
Online Book Library
Not all books, but a number of journals as well. Note these links will take you away from the main page and may require a PDF reader such as Adobe Acrobat.
TED is a nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. It started out (in 1984) as a conference bringing together people from three worlds: Technology, Entertainment, Design. Since then its scope has become ever broader. On TED.com, the best talks and performances from TED and partners are available to the world, for free. More than 900 TEDTalks are now available, with more added each week. All of the talks are subtitled in English, and many are subtitled in various languages. These videos are released under a Creative Commons BY-NC-ND license, so they can be freely shared and reposted. (Description taken from http://www.ted.com/pages/about)
INT 101: Understanding Self and Others
Annotated Bibliography on Free Will and Religion (David Nelson, Fall 2012)
Mini-Research Paper (Janell Johnson, Fall 2012)
Annotated Bibliography Assignment (Larry Fennelly, Fall 2012)
Annotated Bibliography and Research Paper on Hurricane Katrina (Gary Richardson, Fall 2012)
Annotated Bibliography and Research Paper on "Future Forms of Self" (Andy Digh, Fall 2012)
Research Proposal Project and Annotated Bibliography (Sharon Augustine, Fall 2012)