Journalism & Media Studies

by Christian S. Pham — last modified 2016-08-24T15:39:53-04:00

Need help citing sources? If you use MLA Style, check out the guide from OWL at Purdue for help formatting your citations. If you use the APA Style, go to this guide from OWL at Purdue. You can also bring your reference list to the Ask Jack desk, and a librarian will check your citations.

College of Liberal Arts, Journalism

College of Liberal Arts, Media Studies

Center for Collaborative Journalism


Journalism & Media Studies Databases


Getting started:

Discovery - an EBSCO service allowing you to search multiple databases and the library catalog simultaneously. This service is made available to us through GALILEO, Georgia Library Learning Online, an initiative of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia.

Research Library
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 2,600, as well as full text for over 1,700 scholarly journals and general magazines. Research Library is an expansion of, and replacement for, the database titled Periodical Abstracts Research II.

Academic Search Complete
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 3,800, as well as full text for over 3,200 scholarly journals and general magazines.

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Provides access to quality research journals and publications in areas related to communication and mass media.

CQ Researcher
Coverage of political and social issues, with reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.

ProQuest Newspapers
Provides full-text access to five major national newspapers. Coverage includes full-text articles but not advertisements, illustrations, or photographs.

Additional searching:

JSTOR
An online archive containing back issues of scholarly journals in many disciplines.

Business Source Complete
A scholarly business database that provides full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Indexing and abstracts for the many important scholarly business journals as far back as 1886 are included. Business Source Complete also contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database.

Dissertations and Theses Full Text
Covers dissertations accepted at accredited U.S. institutions since 1861. It selectively covers Master's theses and Canadian, British, and other international dissertations. Most dissertations since 1997, along with some earlier dissertations, are available in full text. (This resource is made available to the Mercer community by the Bruce Bell Rabun Memorial Library Fund created by his brother Dr. James Z. Rabun.)

WorldCat [books and publications owned by libraries worldwide]
The world's most comprehensive bibliography with bibliographic records representing information spanning 4,000 years of knowledge. It is the OCLC Online Union Catalog of information contributed by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries worldwide.

Newspaper Resources


LexisNexis Academic
Many types of publications, virtually all in full text: newspapers (in English, other languages, and translations of international papers), legal news, general interest magazines, medical journals, trade publications, company financial information, transcripts, wire service reports, government publications (such as the federal case law, U.S. Code, Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Testimony, etc.), law reviews, and reference works (such as the Forbes Annual Directory, the Official Guide/American Marketplace and the US Global Trade Outlook).

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Library of Congress site providing digital access to historic U.S. newspapers, including ethnic, African American, and Native American papers, from eleven states (including New York) and the District of Columbia. Coverage is from 1880-1922, and by 2011, will reach back to 1836.

Directory of U.S. Newspapers
Information about newspapers published in the United States from 1690 to the present. Provided by the Library of Congress Chronicling America project.

The New York Times Index 1st Floor, A121 .N45 1851-1874, 1913-1996
The Jack Tarver Library has the New York Times on Microfilm, dating back to Sept. 14, 1857. These Microfilm reels are located on the first floor, along with the indexes from 1851-1874, 1913-1996. If you need assistance in using either of these tools, please see either circulation or reference for help. If you'd like to search multiple years at once try the New York Times website's search engine that covers 1851-1980. Please note that full text on this site must be purchased. You may use this site to find the citation information and then use the microfilm reels on the first floor.

The Atlanta journal, the Atlanta constitution index 1st Floor, AI21.A87 A87 1984-1996
The Jack Tarver Library has the Atlanta Journal/Constitution/Journal-Constitution on Microfilm, dating back to 1868. These Microfilm reels are located on the first floor, along with the indexes from 1984-1996. If you need assistance in using either of these tools, please see either circulation or reference for help. For articles between 1868-1939, 1996-present please try this search engine on the AJC's webpage. Please note that full text on this site must be purchased. You may use this site to find the citation information and then use the microfilm reels on the first floor. We do not currently have a resource to find information between 1939-1984.

Macon Telegraph Archive
The Macon Telegraph Archive provides online access to early issues of the Macon Telegraph ranging from its inception as a weekly newspaper in 1826-1908, through the daily issues of the early twentieth century. Consisting of over 50,000 newspaper pages, the archive provides historical images that are both full-text searchable and can be browsed by date.

Historical Georgia Newspapers
Other historical Georgia Newspapers ranging from Columbus Enquirer to the The Red and Black (UGA Newsletter) may be found here.

Newspaper Source
Provides current information from daily feeds from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune Business News and Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Service Newspaper Source as well as cover to cover coverage of The Christian Science Monitor, the 1996 Pulitzer Prize Winner for International Reporting, and coverage from national and international titles, including The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, The Hong Kong Standard, The Jakarta Post, and Jordan Today.

Journalism & Media Studies Journals

Journalism & Mass Media Books

 

Search the library catalog to find books available in the Tarver (Macon), Swilley (Atlanta), and Regional Academic Centers (Douglas County, Eastman, and Henry County) Libraries as well as electronic books. Also, browse the catalog's subject headings for journalism and mass media. Items not available in the University Libraries can be requested from another library.

If you don't see a title in the list or in the online catalog, suggest new or additional titles that the library should purchase.

 

Course-Specific Resources

no course guides available at this time