New Testament Site Report

by Theresa Rhodes last modified 2016-04-28T16:30:21-04:00

Note: This guide recommends sources to assist you with locating information on the New Testament geographic location you chose.  If you need more in-depth help, check out the additional course-specific resources available on the Christianity Subject Librarian page.  Tarver Librarians created this guide to assist with the annotated bibliography.

Updated 3/26/13: Unsure whether you are using scholarly or popular resources?  Compare the differences using this guide or take the C.R.A.P. test to make sure that you are using reliable sources.  This guide provides specific examples for religious periodicals.

Updated 3/4/13: Several books from the Swilley Library are now available on reserve under CHR 150 for Whitfield.  These should help with your site reports:

The Archaeology of Ancient Judea and Palestine
The World of the Bible
The Land and the Book
Cities of the Biblical World
Wycliffe Historical Geography of Bible Lands
Oxford History of the Biblical World

Updated 2/28/13: The page has been updated to include a specific website recommended by Dr. Whitfield and tips on using ATLA to find articles and the library catalog to find books for your site reports.

Biblical Archaeology Review

  • magazine of the Biblical Archaeology Society that has as its mission "Bringing the Ancient World to Life"
  • can also access this site through the link to Biblical Archaeology
  • use the search bar in the upper right-hand of the screen to enter your site name

 

ATLA Religion with ATLA Serials (EBSCO)

    • This is the disciplinary database that has a bit of a learning curve.
    • Remember, you need to log in if using the database from off-campus.
    • The quickest way to search this database for your purposes is to use the Geographic Name as Subject Index.
    • Select Indexes from the main ATLA search page

 

  • Click on the drop down box to reveal the different type of index searches available
  • Click on Geographic Name as Subject

 

  • enter  your site name and click Browse to search the database using the place name as a subject

 

  • you will more than likely have several options you can check to search from this list
  • take some time to review the options looking for the one that is closest to the actually city, site, or place name
  • check the item you want which will add them to the box at the top and then click search to execute the search
    • in the search below, corinth (greece)--history was selected as the best possible match

 

  • search results should look familiar, if you have previously used Academic Search Complete
  • scroll through them and look for an article (in English) that is on the history of your site
  • our search for Corinth returned 15 results and #8 and #9 appear on target and both have attached PDF full text

Books

Searching the online catalog can be a bit tricky for these sites.  Consider setting aside some time to sit with a Reference Librarian at the desk so they can help you navigate this resource.  Since many of these resources are in the Swilley Library, you need to allow at least 5 business days for items to be sent from Atlanta to Macon for you to use.

Possible keyword searches to try in the catalog include:

  • Cities and towns, ancient- Palestine
  • Palestine - antiquities
  • Bible - antiquities
  • Bible - geography

Scholarly model

The Holy Land : an Oxford archaeological guide, from earliest times to 1700 / Jerome Murphy-O'Connor
This source contains information on the main sites both in the city of Jerusalem and throughout the Holy Land, including over 150 high-quality site plans, maps, diagrams, and photographs. 
Note: one copy is available on Reserve, at the Circulation Desk, under CHR 150 for Dr Whitfield.

Biblical Dictionaries

A wide range of dictionaries is available in the Reference stacks.  Many of these will include long entries for your selected sites.  Not all sites will be in every book, so you may need to use several of these to find your selected site.  Reference books do not check out, so you have to use them in the Tarver Library.  The links in the listing below take you to the online catalog record but do not provide remote access to the actual source.

Anchor Bible Dictionary
REF BS 440 .A54 1992
Expect to find longer and more detailed entries for your site name.  All entries are signed and many include a bibliography.  A second copy of this six-volume set is available on the third floor of the Tarver Library.

Mercer Dictionary of the Bible
REF BS 440 .M429 1990 and REF BS 440 .M429 1991
Entries in this source will be a bit shorter.  All entries are signed and many include a bibliography.  Two additional copies of this title are available at the Circulation Desk on Permanent Reserve--just ask for it by name.  Another copy of this source is available in Knight Hall.

New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible
REF BS 440 .N445 2006
Lengthy and detailed entries for your site name are found in this source, but not all sources were listed.  All entries are signed and many include a bibliography.  Entries in all capital letters at the end of the entry refer you to other listings within the source.

Eerdman's Dictionary of the Bible
REF BS 440 .E44 2000
Entries in this source will be short.  All entries are signed and only a few include a bibliography.

The IVP Dictionary of the New Testament

REF BS 2312 .I89 2994
Longest entries are to books of the New Testament and major themes, and there is not as much on sites.  Entries are signed and bibliographies are not included.

Oxford Bible Atlas
REF BS 630 .O96 2009
Primarily an atlas, an Index of Place Names begins on page 205.  Most of this source deals with the Old Testament with the New Testament covering pages 147-171.

Tips & Tricks on Using Biblical Dictionaries

You may have to get creative, and you may need to be a bit of a detective.  Some of these entries are straightforward while others will take some digging.  Here are a couple of general tips and tricks to keep in mind:

  1. Try different ways of looking up your place name.  For example, Mount of Olives as well as looking under Olives, Mount of.
  2. Use the "see" and/or "see also" notes for additional information about your place name.  These are usually listed at the end of the entry.  For example, additional information about Galatia may be found in an entry on Galatians.
  3. Look at any entries in the bibliography or list of resources cited at the end of the entry.  Caution:  the library may not have these additional resources and many of these are not available in English.  These can be confusing to interpret, so don't hesitate to ask us for help!

Reminders:

  1. Your site might not appear in all the sources, so be prepared to use several of the sources on this page.
  2. Remember to share!  At least three other New Testament classes are using many of these same resources.  Place items on a book truck when you are finished.  If you can't find an item, let Theresa or someone at the Circulation Desk know that a source is not readily available.
  3. Remember to keep the focus on how your site is significant for interpreting the New Testament.  Many of these sources will include additional information about your site that goes beyond the specific information you are seeking.

    Need more sources?

    If you get stuck, please contact Theresa Rhodes, Subject Librarian for Christianity.  Her contact information is above, including how to request a research consultation.

    Don't put this off to the last minute, and also don't get frustrated by the lack of sources.  Together, we will figure out a way to get what you need!