Making Biblical Sense, Lewis (Spring 2008)

by Theresa Rhodes last modified 2012-08-20T08:51:46-04:00

Translations "alphabet soup"

NKJV - New King James Version
NAS - New American Standard Version
NRSV - New Revised Standard Version
NIV - New International Version
NEB - New English Bible
TEV - Today's English Version
GNB - Good News Bible
JB - Jerusalem Bible
Remember: The Living Bible is a paraphrase not a translation--not eligible for this assignment.

Online resources for translations include:
Parallel Bible (can look up two translations at a time, includes all of the above translations)
Unbound Bible (includes NRSV and NAS only)
Bible Gateway (includes NAS, NIV, and NKJV only)

Note: This guide focuses on tools for your workshop days in CHR 101. Additional course-specific resources are available on the Christianity Subject Librarian page.

  • Read the text
  • Look up unfamiliar as well as familiar words, phrases, or names in biblical dictionaries
  • Read the text in other English translations
  • Consult scholarly biblical commentaries

Biblical Dictionaries

Anchor Bible Dictionary
REF BS 440 .A54 1992

Interpreter’s Dictionary of the Bible
REF BS 440 .I63

New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible
REF BS 440 .N445

Vine's expository dictionary of Old & New Testament words
REF BS 440 .V7476 1997

Mounce's complete expository dictionary of Old & New Testament words
check out the scripture index in the back of this source
REF BS 440 .M63 2006

Mercer Dictionary of the Bible
REF BS 440.M429 1991
(second copy on Reserve)

English Translations

The Layman’s Parallel Bible REF BS 125 .B5 1991

Scholarly Commentaries

Interpreter’s Bible REF BS 491.2 .I55

New Interpreter’s Bible REF BS 491.2 .N484 1994

The New Jerome Biblical Commentary REF BS 491.2 .N485 1990

Mercer Commentary on the Old Testament REF BS 1151.2 .M47 2003

Workshop Days Assigned Texts

Genesis 2: 21-25
Leviticus 18:26-30
I Kings 11:4-8
Isaiah 7:14-16
Song of Songs 8: 6-7


Reminders

  • Don't assume you know the meaning of the words; look up familiar words to make sure you are reading them in the context of the passage.
  • Familiarity brings understanding—read, read, and then re-read the passage using several translations, looking up unfamiliar words or phrases.
  • Not required for this class, but other sources are listed on the Christianity web page.
  • Ask for help rather than spinning your wheels. Anyone at the Circulation Desk can get someone to help you, or you can contact Theresa Rhodes, the Subject Librarian for Christianity.
  • phone: (478) 301-2031
  • e-mail: rhodes_tp@mercer.edu
  • office: 2nd floor of Jack Tarver Library