RefWorks for GHS 200

by Theresa Rhodes last modified 2015-08-11T10:47:16-04:00

This guide walks you through using RefWorks to export citations from CQ Researcher, Academic Search Complete, and the Mercer Universities (Innovative) Library catalog.

What is RefWorks 2.0?

RefWorks is a web-based software that captures, stores, and organizes references for books, articles, web pages, and other sources.  It then automatically converts these references into a properly formatted bibliography in the citation style of your choice, including APA, Chicago, and MLA.  Plus, there is also a feature that allows you to format your paper to incorporate your references.  There is no software to download and update, and you can access your personal account from any computer connected to the Internet.

What about RefWorks Classic?

RefWorks 2.0 is the default for all accounts; you can switch back to RefWorks classic until the end of 2011.

Why use RefWorks?

  1. store references--those imported and those manually created
  2. create bibliographies
  3. insert in-text references, footnotes, or endnotes into documents created in Word and other text editing programs
  4. create a personal, customizable database for your research

How do I get started?

The University Libraries have an annual subscription to RefWorks so that a faculty, staff, or student with a valid Mercer University e-mail and ID (MUID) may obtain a RefWorks account, free of charge, through the libraries' databases.  These accounts are available through Mercer as long as the University subscribes to RefWorks.   If the University no longer subscribes, you can then switch your account to another institution or purchase an individual subscription.

To sign up for an account, go to the Mercer login page for RefWorks and sign up for a new account.

Shortly after you sign up for an account, you will receive an e-mail containing important information about your account, including your user name, password, and the Mercer University Group Code.  The Group Code is required to access your account from outside the Mercer network.  Keep this e-mail, since the Group Code is required for login outside the Mercer network.  The Mercer Group Code is RWMUA.

Always use the Mercer login page for RefWorks to start your session, and remember to open this account before you start your searching to make sure that your citations are stored in your personal RefWorks account.  Logging in outside the Mercer network requires the Mercer Group Access code that is included in the confirming e-mail you receive after signing up for an account.

What are the basics for exporting references from our database searches?

For the purposes of this guide, we return to our search on sleep deprivation to illustrate exporting references into your personal RefWorks account.

CQ Researcher

    • click on the CiteNow link at the top of the screen (opens in a new pop-up window)
        • click the Export citation to: link at the bottom of this pop-up window
          • select RefWorks
            • if you don't have your RefWorks account open, RefWorks will open in a new window and require a login

              • Go to the RefWorks window to confirm that one reference has been imported.

              Note: RefWorks will always import references into a folder labeled "Last Imported Folder."

              • click on View Last Imported Folder" to see the CQ Researcher reference

              • It is a good idea to create a new folder for each project and move the imported reference to a new folder.  Clicking on the reference, you can then create a new folder.

              • clicking on the folder icon, you can move the reference to this new folder

              Academic Search Complete

              • conduct your search as usual and identify the citations you are interested in capturing into RefWorks
              • click on the Add to Folder icon at the bottom of each citation

              • click on Folder View when you have finished adding citations to your folder

              • from the folder view, select all items you wish to export and click Export

              • from the Export window, select Direct Export to RefWorks and click Save in the right hand menu

              • if you don't have your RefWorks account open, RefWorks will open in a new window and require a login
              • go to the RefWorks window to confirm that your references have been imported
              • remember that all references will appear in the Last Imported Folder

               

              • select the imported items and then move them to the GHS 200 folder (which contains the 1 reference from CQ Researcher) to keep all your references together

              Mercer University Libraries (Innovative) Catalog

              • conduct your search as usual and mark the records you are interested in capturing into RefWorks

              • notice that once you mark a record (first entry above), the option changes from Mark Record to Unmark Record
              • click View Marked from the top menu

              • select your records; even though they are marked, you still have to select them from this screen
              • click View and Export your saved records
              • select End-Note/RefWorks as the format of your list,  select to save to the screen, and click Submit (you can also choose to save it to the local disk, just be sure to remember the name you choose!)

              • save this file as a text file and remember where you have it saved so that you can import it into RefWorks

               

              Now you need to tell RefWorks the source of the import, including where to find the text file saved earlier:

              • select Innovative Interfaces (Endnote/RefWorks Format) under the Import Filter/Data Source
              • select Mercer University for the database
              • select the source of the text file saved earlier
              • you can choose to import items directly into a specified folder, but items will also appear in the Last Imported Item folder

              Manually adding references:

              You can also manually create a new reference, for items that you do not export from a database or from the libraries catalog.

              1. go to the References menu
              2. click on Add New Reference
              3. choose the citation style under the View fields used by drop down menu -- your selection determines which fields are required for data entry for that particular style
              4. choose the reference type, such as journal article or book chapter, that you will be entering under the Ref Type drop down menu
              5. enter the information from your reference in the appropriate fields
              6. click on save reference at the bottom of the page
              7. repeat these steps to manually add other references and click save and add new

              How do I edit references?

              • go to the list of references and click on the pencil icon on the right side of the reference you want to edit
              • make changes to any fields you want
              • click save reference at the bottom of the screen

              How do I create my bibliography?

              1. click the create bibliography button from the RefWorks menu bar
              2. choose the output style for the references -- for example, APA -- if the style you need is not listed, you can select Output Style Manager to see a full list
              3. under the heading format a bibliography from a list of References, set the File type to create drop-down menu to the appropriate format --for example Word for Windows
              4. choose which references you want to include -- all, selected or references from folder
              5. click Create Bibliography -- RefWorks will tell you when the bibliography has been created (if it doesn't open automatically in a new window, click Download It then Save to save the file to your desktop)

              RefGrab-It

              • An advanced feature, RefGrab-It, works with Internet Explorer or Firefox to capture bibliographic information from web pages, allowing you the option to import such data into your RefWorks account.
              • This feature has to be downloaded prior to use, and can be done from the Tools menu under RefGrab-It

              Write-N-Cite


              Write-N-Cite is a utility that acts as a bridge between RefWorks and Microsoft Word, allowing you to place citations within your research paper as you write it. This program, which requires an additional plug-in, is available in four versions.  Write-n-Cite III is compatible with MS Word 2010. There are some differences if you are installing Write-n-Cite III with Word 2010. First Word 2010 must be completely installed on the local computer and then the computer must be restarted before Write-n-Cite III can be installed. Additionally Microsoft now offers a version of Word 2010 called Click-to-Run that installs a virtualization handler to your local computer and then runs the application on the Web. Write-n-Cite III is not compatible with this version of Word. The full application must be installed on the local computer for Write-n-Cite III to recognize the installation of MS Word 2010.

              The current version of Write-n-Cite 2.5 is not compatible with Office 2011 for Mac. RefWorks will be releasing a new version of WNC for Mac that will be compatible. In the interim, RefWorks recommends that Mac user with Office 2011 use One Line Cite our WNC alternative, this does work with Office 2011. More information on One Line Cite is available.

              The use of this utility is outside the scope of this guide, so for further information see:  http://www.refworks.com/refworks/wmndownload.asp.

              What else can I do with RefWorks?


              Lots!

              The 2.0 user interface has many easy-to-use features such as a RSS feed reader and RefShare, a tool for the web dissemination and publication of databases.

               

              RefWorks is a very powerful tool and includes Adobe Captivate tutorials and corresponding PDF files on major functions.

              RefWorks 2.0 Fundamentals (Tutorials)

              AdobeCaptivate tutorials, and corresponding PDF files, are available for RefWorks functions.  Adobe Flash Player is required, and the page includes a link to download the plug-in.  You can view the tutorials in order from first to last or select a specific topic from the table of contents page.

              RefWorks 2.0 FAQs are included.

              Need more help?
              Please feel free to contact us via the AskUs service or use the Research Consultation Request Form to schedule an appointment with us.  We are still learning this important resource, so "Bear with US" as we learn together.