Government Health Resources on the Web

by Theresa Rhodes last modified 2012-08-01T11:20:55-04:00

Government Health Resources on the Web

This web guide is created to highlight some of most popular health resources mainly sponsored by the National Library of Medicine as well as other government agencies. The page is supplementary to the "Tips for a Healthy U" Exhibit, which was funded by a grant received from the National Network of Libraries of Medicine.

National Library of Medicine Resources

PubMed.gov
PubMed® is the National Library of Medicine’s premiere search system for health information. It lets you search millions of journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed Fact Sheet provides more information about this free resource.

PubMed Help provides a brief overview of searching PubMed. Click the Quick Start link.

PubMed Tutorials - the Web-based learning program that provides access to numerous brief animated tutorials with audio support for using this database.

PubMed Central (PMC)
PubMed Central is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free full-text digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

PMC Journal List
The PMC journal list comprises journals that deposit material in PMC on a routine basis. Use this list to locate a specific journal to access full text articles and search the articles within that journal.

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is the National Library of Medicine’s website for free consumer health information. It is a selective list of authoritative health information resources from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and other organizations.

MedlinePlus Tutorials
MedlinePlus interactive tutorials include over 165 slideshows with sound and pictures explaining a procedure or condition in easy-to-read language.

NLM Gateway
The NLM Gateway is a Web-based system that lets users search simultaneously in multiple retrieval systems at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). It allows users of NLM services to initiate searches from one Web interface, providing "one-stop searching" for many of NLM's information resources or databases.

For an overview of the NLM Gateway services and helpful search tips, please visit the FAQ and About sections.

TOXNET
TOXNET (TOXicology Data NETwork) is a cluster of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and other related areas. Please visit Database Description, TOXNET FAQ and Fact Sheet for more information about this site.

Toxicology Tutorials
NLM Toxicology Tutorials provide users of NLM’s toxicology databases with a working knowledge of basic toxicology principles. The tutorials are written at the introductory college student level.

Consumer Health Resources

ClinicalTrials.gov
ClinicalTrials.gov provides patients, family members, health care professionals, and members of the public easy access to information on clinical trials for a wide range of diseases and conditions. The site covers studies for new drugs and treatments. Read the fact sheet for details.

Healthfinder®
This government Web site is the place where you will find information and tools to help you stay healthy, including an encyclopedia of over 1,600 health topics from the most trusted sources and a Quick Guide to Healthy Living.

Drug Information Portal
This portal provides quick access to quality drug information available for 19,283 drugs. The site is searchable by Drug Name and Drug Category.

Where can you find information about US drugs? Please visit the site of US Drug Information

Nutrition.gov
Nutrition.gov provides easy access to government information on food and human nutrition for consumers. It serves as a gateway to reliable information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety for consumers.

MyPlate.gov - Steps to a healthier you
MyPlate is designed by the USDA and offers personalized eating plans and interactive tools to help you plan/ assess your food choices based on the Dietary Guidelines for Americans.

National Women’s Health Information Center
This is the most reliable and current information resource on women’s health today that covers such topics as pregnancy, breastfeeding, body image, HIV/AIDS, menopause and hormone therapy, and violence against women.

Tox Town
Tox Town uses color, graphics, sounds, and animation to convey connections between chemicals, the environment, and the public's health. It is designed to provide:

  • Facts on everyday locations where toxic chemicals might be found
  • Information about how the environment can affect human health
  • Non-technical descriptions of chemicals
  • Links to authoritative chemical information on the Internet
  • Internet resources on environmental health topics

Health Insurance
This link, provided by USA.gov, offers information on Medicaid, Medicare, prescription drug coverage, and more.

General Health Information

HealthierUS.gov
This initiative is a national effort to improve people's lives, prevent and reduce the costs of disease, and promote community health and wellness. Among the featured data are nutrition tips, physical activity advice, healthy choices, preventive screenings, and more.

AIDSinfo
AIDSinfo offers HIV/AIDS information on federally approved treatment guidelines, clinical trials, drugs, and vaccine research.

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke
The Institute's web page contains research on brain and nervous system disorders. It includes an A to Z index of disorders, patient resources, and Stroke Awareness information. Visit the Know Stroke website to learn more about stroke and obtain Know Stroke materials such as brochures, posters, and videos.

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive Kidney Diseases
This resource features easy-to-use information on health and disease topics, including diabetes, kidney diseases, weight control, and endocrine and metabolic diseases.

National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute
NHLBI is a global leader in research, training, and education programs to promote the prevention and treatment of heart, lung, and blood diseases.

NIHSeniorHealth
This easy-to-use website features basic health and wellness information for older adults from the National Institutes of Health, including Exercise Stories, Health Videos, and Training Tools. Read more about NIHSeniorHealth.

Federal Agencies

National Library of Medicine
National Institutes of Health
Department of Health & Human Services
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Food and Drug Administration
World Health Organization (WHO)
Environmental Protection Agency

Tips for a Healthy U -- provided by Mercer Wellness

  • An estimated 60-90% of doctor's visits are related to stress. Chronic stress can manifest as headaches, depression and anxiety and weaken your immune system.
  • Fake It: The act of smiling releases endorphins and makes us happy. If you're feeling stressed, please fake a smile. It may be enough to break the tension and help you feel better.
  • Strive for Five: Consume at least 2 servings of fruits and 3 servings of vegetables every day.
  • Be Good in Bed: Aim for at least 7-9 hours of uninterrupted sleep every day.
  • Go Greek: The Mediterranean Diet Pyramid is a great model for your diet. Choose whole grains, fruits & vegetables, nuts and beans, heart-healthy fats like olive oil and protein sources like eggs, cheese, fish and poultry.
  • Hold the Salt: Reducing your salt intake by only 1/2 teaspoon each day can reduce your blood pressure. Try to avoid adding extra salt to your food.
  • Give me 30: The American Heart Association recommends adults get at least 30 minutes of moderate intensity aerobic activity most days of the week. If you want to lose weight, that number jumps to 60-90 minutes.
  • Pump Iron: Strength training is an important part of your exercise routine, even for women. Do strength training exercises for all major muscle groups (arms, legs and core) 2-3 times per week.
  • Work Harder, Not Longer: If you're tight on time but want to make sure you're getting enough physical activity, dial up the intensity. For example, if you run instead of walk, you can exercise for 20 minutes instead of 30 and reap the same benefits.
  • Positivity Helps: Research suggests that optimists live longer and have a higher quality of life than pessimists. Try to be a glass "half full" person by actively using positive words and thinking kind thoughts about yourself.
  • Your Mother was Right: Breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Eating breakfast jump starts your metabolism and helps you maintain or lose weight. Eat a well-balanced meal (protein, fat & carbohydrate) within 60-90 minutes of rising.
  • Whole is Best: Focus on eating whole rather than refined grain products. Refined products like white bread, sugar, enriched pasta and white rice dramatically elevate your blood glucose levels. Instead, choose whole grain options like oatmeal, whole wheat, bulgur and brown rice. Whole grain products raise good cholesterol, lower bad, and make you feel full.
  • McGarbage: Did you know many salads from fast food restaurants have more fat and calories than a Big Mac? Choose fast food no more than once every seven days and think of it as a treat rather than a staple.
  • Make a Date with Yourself: Research suggests that if you schedule your physical activity the same way you schedule meetings, classes and social obligations, you are more likely to exercise.
  • Butt Out: Smoking is the number one cause of preventable death in the U.S. If you don't smoke, don't start. If you do smoke, quit. There is no other single thing you can do to improve your health.