GBK 101 - Dowling

by Kristen A. Bailey — last modified 2017-10-11T20:58:01-04:00

Your assignment askes that you compare Thucydides’ History of the Peloponnesian War with a conflict post-1990.

Your Assignment

When picking your modern conflict, these resources may help you in deciding:

The Violent Conflict Dataset (1991-2008)            Uppsala Conflict Data Program

The VCD and the UCDP offer information on worldwide that lead to fatalities. They both share data on whether the conflict was state-based or non-state-based, whether the conflicts were one-sided, and who were the major players involved.

Dr. Dowling has asked you for three types of resources: a peer-reviewed source on the Peloponnesian War; a peer-reviewed source on your chosen modern conflict; and  2-3 popular and credible sources on your chosen modern conflict.

Scholarly Sources vs Popular Sources from Kimbel Library on Vimeo.

Databases for Historical Peer-Reviewed Resources

JSTOR — An online archive containing back issues of scholarly journals in many disciplines.

History Reference Center (EBSCO) — Features full text for more than 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, as well as full text for more than 120 history periodicals. Further, the database contains 59,640 historical documents; more than 50,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 110,200 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.

Databases for Current Conflict Peer-Reviewed Sources

Peace Research Abstracts (EBSCO) — Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Military (ProQuest) — Covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.

You can also find a list of databases for studies of specific countries and regions here.

Databases for Current Conflict Popular Sources

LexisNexis Academic — Many types of publications, virtually all in full text: newspapers (in English, other languages, and translations of international papers), legal news, general interest magazines, medical journals, trade publications, company financial information, transcripts, wire service reports, government publications (such as the federal case law, U.S. Code, Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Testimony, etc.), law reviews, and reference works.

International Newsstream (ProQuest) — Provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. Includes more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.

Newspaper Source (EBSCO) — Provides current information from daily feeds from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune Business News and Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Service Newspaper Source as well as cover to cover coverage of The Christian Science Monitor, the 1996 Pulitzer Prize Winner for International Reporting, and coverage from national and international titles, including The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, The Hong Kong Standard, The Jakarta Post, and Jordan Today.

New York Times (ProQuest) — Coverage: 1851-2013. Includes all the articles published since the first issue of the paper in 1851. Provides full text and full image articles with digital reproductions of every page, every article and every issue in PDF format. In addition to news stories, includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements. You can browse issues by selecting "Publications" above the search box.