Great Books

by Kristen A. Bailey — last modified 2017-08-25T11:47:41-04:00

Databases

  1. ATLA Religion with ATLA Serials (EBSCO) — Contains citations from over 1430 sources published from 1949 to the present. Material covered includes journal articles, essays in multi-author works and book reviews. Some journal articles are available in full-text. (This resource is made available to the Mercer community by the Bruce Bell Rabun Memorial Library Fund created by his brother Dr. James Z. Rabun.)
  2. Philosopher's Index (EBSCO) — Covers the fifteen fields of philosophy: aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion. The Philosopher's Index contains research published since 1940 including nearly 570 journals from 43 countries with content representing a variety of languages.
  3. Literature Online (ProQuest) — An online resource for the study and teaching of literature in English. It combines the texts of over 355,000 literary works with a vast library of key criticism and reference resources. The essential criticism and reference resources, including an ever-growing library of full-text journals and author biographies, helps keep you up to date on the latest research into every aspect of literary and linguistic study.
  4. Project MUSE (Standard Collection) — This is an interdisciplinary collection of high quality, peer reviewed journals extensively in the humanities and social sciences.
  5. Oxford Biblical Studies Online — Oxford Biblical Studies Online provides a comprehensive resource for the study of the Bible and biblical history. This site offers a ready access point for a wealth of Bible text and commentary—including the New Oxford Annotated Bible and five other popular Oxford Study Bibles. In addition to the Bible texts, Oxford Biblical Studies Online offers quick access to over 5,000 A-Z entries from the Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls, Oxford Companion to the Bible, and a wealth of other Oxford references.

Open Access Resources

  1. Project Gutenberg — offers over 54,000 free eBooks: Choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, especially older works for which copyright has expired. 
  2. Perseus Digital Library — Primary and secondary sources for the study of ancient Greece and Rome, early modern English literature, and other periods,