Southern Studies

by Christian S. Pham last modified 2017-08-19T14:29:59-04:00

Databases

  1. Digital Library of Georgia — A virtual collection of digitized books, newspapers, images, manuscripts, and media with an emphasis on material important to the history and culture of the state of Georgia. Many of the materials are from the special collections of GALILEO member institutions.
  2. Auburn Avenue Research Library on African American Culture and History — Consists of guides to archival and manuscript collections held by the Auburn Avenue Research Library on African-American Culture and History, a special library of the Atlanta-Fulton Public Library System. The library's primary source materials document the experiences of African-Americans in Atlanta, the Southeastern region, and throughout the nation.
  3. Nexis Uni (Formerly LexisNexis Academic) — Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
  4. Civil War in the American South — Provides a central portal to access digital collections from the Civil War Era (1850-1865) held by members of the Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL). ASERL members hold deep and extensive collections documenting the history and culture of the American South, developed over hundreds of years. Many of the special or unique manuscripts, photographs, books, newspapers, broadsides, and other materials have been digitized to provide broader access to these documents.

Newspapers

  1. Georgia Historic Newspapers — The Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive is a project of the Digital Library of Georgia (DLG), a part of Georgia’s Virtual Library GALILEO and is based at the University of Georgia Libraries. Since 2007, the DLG has partnered with universities, archives, public libraries, historical societies, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions to digitize historical newspapers from around the state. The archive is free and open for public use and includes over one million Georgia newspaper pages between 1786 and 1986.
  2. Macon Telegraph Archive (1826-1908) — The Macon Telegraph Archive provides online access to early issues of the Macon Telegraph ranging from its inception as a weekly newspaper in 1826, through the daily issues of the early twentieth century. Consisting of over 50,000 newspaper pages, the archive provides historical images that are both full-text searchable and can be browsed by date.
  3. US Newsstream (ProQuest) — US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Contains the Atlanta Journal Constitution

Web Sources

  1. Documenting the American South — Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
  2. The Martin Luther King, Jr. Center for Nonviolent Social Change Archives — The King Center Imaging Project brings the works and papers of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. to a digital generation. JPMorgan Chase & Co. began the project in April of 2011 with the intent to preserve, digitize and make publically available some of the extensive holdings of The King Center Archive collection. Through the JPMorgan Chase's Technology for Social Good program, a team of highly skilled individuals has been organized to help digitize more than 1 million documents. The digital archive is a dynamic collection.  Visitors are encouraged to check back regularly, as new content is always being added to the site. 
  3. The Southern Documentary Project — The Southern Documentary Project is an institute of the Center for the Study of Southern Culture. SouthDocs produces short and feature length documentary films with partners like the Southern Foodways Alliance and radio programs such as “Highway 61″ and “Sounds of the South.”