History 356

by SHUPING_AD — last modified 2016-04-28T16:30:24-04:00

This guide will help you find resources needed to complete your project.  If you need further assistance please contact Andrew via the information at the right or schedule a research consultation for more in depth help.

 

Literature and Journals 

 

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
REF AI3 .P66 (1802-1906)
A subject index to 479 American and English general periodicals.See also Cumulative Author Index for Poole's Index to Periodical Literature 1802-1906. Published in 1971, this index lists all personal names that appeared in the original index (REF AI3.P68 W3).

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature
Periodicals, First Floor (1900-1999)
Contains citations for a broad range of periodical articles, arranged by subject.

 

Databases 

HarpWeek — HarpWeek provides information on domestic and foreign news, editorials, and people during the Civil War era. Users can track the major political, social and military stories of the day, along with the editorial comment, humor, literature and even gossip that related to them.

Civil War and the American South — Provides a central portal to access digital collections from the Civil War Era (1850-1865) held by members of the Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL). ASERL members hold deep and extensive collections documenting the history and culture of the American South, developed over hundreds of years to support scholarly research and teaching. Many of the special or unique manuscripts, photographs, books, newspapers, broadsides, and other materials have been digitized to provide broader access to these documents for scholars and students around the world.

JSTOR — An online archive containing back issues of scholarly journals in many disciplines.

 

Websites

Making of America (Cornell University)
Making of America (University of Michigan) 
Making of America is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Both sites have the same scope, but different content.

Library of Congress, American Memory
Historical collections (largely primary documents) from the National Digital Library. One such “exhibit” is the Born in Slavery, which contains recordings from the 1940’s of some surviving slaves and their memories of the time period.

Documenting the American South
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to Southern history, literature, and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century.

Civil War In America, Illustrated London News

 

Newspapers

 The New York Times Index 1st Floor, A121 .N45 1851-1874, 1913-1996

The Jack Tarver Library has the New York Times on Microfilm, dating back to Sept. 14, 1857. These Microfilm reels are located on the first floor, along with the indexes from 1851-1874, 1913-1996. If you need assistance in using either of these tools, please see either circulation or reference for help. If you'd like to search multiple years at once try the New York Times website's search engine that covers 1851-1980. Please note that full text on this site must be purchased. You may use this site to find the citation information and then use the microfilm reels on the first floor.

The Atlanta journal, the Atlanta constitution index 1st Floor, AI21.A87 A87 1984-1996
The Jack Tarver Library has the Atlanta Journal/Constitution/Journal-Constitution on Microfilm, dating back to 1868. These Microfilm reels are located on the first floor, along with the indexes from 1984-1996. If you need assistance in using either of these tools, please see either circulation or reference for help. For articles between 1868-1945, 1996-present please try this search engine on the AJC's webpage. Please note that full text on this site must be purchased. You may use this site to find the citation information and then use the microfilm reels on the first floor. We do not currently have a resource to find information between 1945-1984.

Macon Telegraph Archive
The Macon Telegraph Archive provides online access to early issues of the Macon Telegraph ranging from its inception as a weekly newspaper in 1826-1908, through the daily issues of the early twentieth century. Consisting of over 50,000 newspaper pages, the archive provides historical images that are both full-text searchable and can be browsed by date.

Digital Library of Georgia, Georgia Newspapers

 

Catalog Search 

If you'd like to find books try searching the catalog via these Subjects:

United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877)