Music

by Christian S. Pham last modified 2017-08-14T16:05:53-04:00

 Electronic resources specifically for Music

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text (EBSCO)

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text includes approximately one million pages of full-text content from more than 200 periodicals from 50 countries in 40 languages, published from the early 20th century to the present. Most coverage commences with the first issue of the journal and includes cover-to-cover full text for every included title. Therefore, in addition to scholarly articles and reviews, the database includes obituaries, editorials, correspondence, advertisements, news items, and more.

Oxford Music Online 

Oxford Music Online includes Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music (2002), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006), which supplements Grove's more extensive articles with content geared toward undergraduates and general users.

NAXOS Music Library 

Naxos Music Library is a vast online classical music library, offering streaming access to tens of thousands of CDs. The library offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues plus the complete catalogues or selected titles from over 378 classical, jazz and world music labels with more labels joining every month. Classic pop and rock music as well as Chinese orchestral music are also represented.

Canterbury Dictionary of Hymnology 

A reference resource for scholars of global hymnody, with information on the hymns of many countries and languages, and a strong emphasis on the historical as well as the contemporary. It will be of interest to literary scholars, musicians, church historians, and theologians. It contains over 4000 individual entries about hymns of the Judaeo-Christian tradition, from the earliest years to those written today.

International Bibliography of Theater & Dance with Full Text (EBSCO) 

Articles, essays and book chapters mined from internationally selected publications in drama, dance, media, mime, mixed entertainment, storytelling, music-drama, and puppetry. International Bibliography of Theater & Dance with Full Text includes nearly 100 journal titles and over 120 full-text books not included in Academic Search Complete.