Physics

by Christian S. Pham — last modified 2017-08-31T10:33:32-04:00

Web of Science (Web of Knowledge/Thomson Reuters)
Web of Science is probably the best place for you to start your research, because it will help you discover articles in the most prestigious scientific journals. While there's no full text directly available here, there are links to help you find full text and/or request articles through Interlibrary Loan. Note that you can limit your search to specific article types (including review articles), date ranges, languages, etc. using the menu on the left once you have submitted your initial search.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
This multi-disciplinary full-text database is quite strong in biology topics and includes a lot of full-text articles. Not everything here is full text, but there is a lot. Beware limiting your search to a 'review' because you may wind up with book reviews.

Environment Complete (EBSCO)
Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete indexes more than 1,600 journals (nearly 600 with full text) as well as more than 100 monographs.

JSTOR
Contains back issues of scholarly journals in many disciplines. Strong biology coverage, but very little current content. Particularly useful for locating older material and studying the development of scientific knowledge and classification of species.

ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Citations and some full text to high quality science journals published by Elsevier.
Access Alert! The key to knowing if you have access to a particular article is to note the small 'piece of paper' indicator next to each citation. If it's green, you're in business; if it's white you'll need to request it by Interlibrary Loan.

SpringerLink e-Journals — SpringerLink is the platform for accessing online journals and books published by Springer.
Access Alert! The absence of a padlock symbol means that full text is available.

Wiley Online Library — Wiley Online Library is a multi-disciplinary database that includes full-text journal articles and some full-text reference sources published by Wiley.
Access Alert! An open padlock symbol by an article title means that full text is available.