Pre-Health

by Gail M. Morton — last modified 2017-09-01T06:22:10-04:00


Pre-Health Reading List

This collection comes from Carol Bokros, Assistant Director of Pre-Health Professions Programs.  Her goal in assembling the collection is to easily direct pre-health students to materials which will help them better prepare for entrance exams, professional schools, and for careers in the health professions.  Of special note are titles recommended by Mercer faculty who responded to the question "what books do you wish your own doctors had read?"

Another set of books on study skills and test preparation, including prep guides for standardized tests (MCAT, PCAT, GRE, DAT, OAT, TEAS), are available for student use in the ARC.

Pre-Professional Programs

Core science requirements for admission to health-related professional schools are offered by the College of Liberal Arts.  This page provides information and links for students who plan to pursue professional degrees in the law of dentistry, medicine, nursing, pharmacy, physical therapy, physician assistant, and veterinary medicine.

Academic Advising Pre-Professional Programs

This helpful website includes contact information for Dr. Carol Bokros, Coordinator of Pre-Professional Programs and a schedule of events planned by Dr. Carol Bokros that is updated each semester.  In addition, walk-in advising is available with Dr. Bokros who is located in Penfield Hall (across Cruz Plaza from Tarver Library.

Pre-Health Journals

There are times when you prefer to search for a specific journal title rather than using a database to search by subject.  The Full Text Electronic Journal List includes all journals available to Mercerians.

The following subject areas are available:
- Medicine
- Dentistry
- Internal Medicine
- Nursing
- Therapeutics.  Pharmacology
- Public Aspects of Medicine

Pre-Health Books

Search the library catalog to find books available in the Tarver (Macon), Swilley (Atlanta), and Regional Academic Center (Douglas County and Henry County) Libraries as well as electronic books. Items not available in the Tarver Library can be requested from another library.

Medicine books available in the Tarver Library are classed in Medicine according to the Library of Congress classification system.

See what's new in your subject area by viewing New Acquisitions.  If you don't see a title in the list or in the online catalog, suggest new or additional titles that the library should purchase.

Pre-Health Reference Sources in the Tarver Library

Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions Reference, R 121 .M89 2013

Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions & Nursing Reference, R 121 .S8 2012

Useful Pre-Health Web Sites

Explore Health Careers http://explorehealthcareers.org
This is a free, multi-disciplinary, interactive health careers website designed to explain the array of health professions and provide easy access to students seeking information about health careers. This website is a joint initiative involving national foundations, professional associations, health career advisors, educational institutions, and college students.

Health Careers in Georgia http://www.sowega-ahec.org/includes/docs/health-careers-2010.pdf
Provided by the Southwest Georgia Area Health Education Center, this website provides detail information on "Health Careers in Georgia."

Academic Resource Center http://departments.mercer.edu/arc
Mercer's own Academic Resource Center assists students with study skills as well as writing skills.