Women's & Gender Studies

by Jeremy M. Brown last modified 2017-07-05T15:33:28-04:00
Databases

America: History and Life (EBSCO) - A comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Offers abstracts and citations for articles in roughly 1,800 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. Includes citations to book and media reviews from approximately 140 major journals of American history and culture and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.

JSTOR - Provides access to complete back files of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The University Libraries subscribe to the Arts & Sciences I, II, and III and Health & General Sciences, which include a variety of history journals. 

JSTOR's agreement with publishers includes an updating provision referred to as a "moving wall," which is a fixed period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years that defines the gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR. This database began to include some current content in 2011. The University Libraries are not yet subscribing to this current content. Tarver librarians created this guide to help students using this database.

Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest) - Covers dissertations accepted at accredited U.S. institutions since 1861. Selectively covers Master's theses and Canadian, British, and other international dissertations. Most dissertations since 1997 (and some earlier dissertations) are available in full text.

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) - Index of literature, languages, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and folklore from over 4,400 journals and serials, as well as books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.

Civil War in the American South - A central portal to access digital collections from the Civil War Era (1850-1865) held by members of the Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL). Many special or unique manuscripts, photographs, books, newspapers, broadsides, and other materials have been digitized to provide broader access to these documents. The shared collection continues to grow, providing ready access to a world-class collection of primary source materials from the American Civil War era. 

WorldCat (FirstSearch) - The world's most comprehensive bibliography with entries representing books and other resources spanning 4,000 years of knowledge from libraries around the world.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)  - Includes more than 6,100 full-text periodicals (over 5,100 of which are peer-reviewed), and also offers indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF images of articles from 1887 with the majority of full-text titles in searchable PDF format.

Oxford English Dictionary Online - Recognized as the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium, the OED provides definitions, etymological analysis, and quotations to demonstrate the use of words in the English language over time. This web-based version includes all information in the print counterpart and adds at least 1,000 new and revised entries each quarter. The publisher, Oxford University Press, provides extensive information about the dictionary and its use on their web site.

Literary Reference Center (EBSCO) - Combines information from major reference works, books, and literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Included are thousands of plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews; literary criticism; author biographies; full-text of over 430 literary journals; book reviews; classic and contemporary poems and short stories; full-text of over 7,000 classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures.

Librarians

If you need assistance, please Ask Us or contact one of the Humanities Team librarians: