Political Science

by Jeremy M. Brown last modified 2017-07-05T15:33:28-04:00
Databases

Discovery - an EBSCO service allowing you to search multiple databases and the library catalog simultaneously. This service is made available to us through GALILEO, Georgia Library Learning Online, an initiative of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia.

CQ Researcher - provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. It offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.

Homeland Security Digital Library - The Homeland Security Digital Library is the nation's premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. HSDL is only available at Mercer Macon campus and off-campus access is limited to Mercer Macon undergraduates, graduates, faculty and staff.

JSTOR - provides access to complete back files of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. NOTE: JSTOR is primarily useful for locating older articles. This is due to an agreement with publishers where JSTOR typically does not provide full text coverage for the most recent 2 to 5 years, in exchange for complete archival access. This database is included in Discovery.

LexisNexis Academic - Provides full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and educational sources. The sources include international, national, and regional newspapers, trade journals, wire services, broadcast transcripts, and government publications.

Research Library (ProQuest) - a general database providing access to scholarly journals and general magazines, many of which are available in full text. This database is not included in Discovery.

Web of Science - Provides detailed citations and abstracts for the top scholarly periodicals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers both domestic and international journals, open access resources, books, patents, proceedings, and Web sites.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) — A resource that includes authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, ProQuest now updates and publishes this resource monthly.

Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest) - Dissertations and Theses Full Text is a multidisciplinary database which includes 2.4 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.

Librarians

If you need assistance, please Ask Us or contact one of the Humanities Team librarians:

Course Specific Guides

LPP 244: Introduction to Law, Public Policy and Ethics

POL 101R: Introduction to American Politics

POL 295: Introduction to Political Science Research