Physics

by Jeremy M. Brown last modified 2017-05-23T16:37:16-04:00
Databases

 

IOPScience - Institute of Physics Journals Database
The complete run of all journals published by the United Kingdom's Institute of Physics. This new database features an updated interface for accessing these important physics titles.

Research Library (ProQuest)
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 2,600, as well as full text for over 1,700 scholarly journals and general magazines. Research Library is an expansion of, and replacement for, the database titled Periodical Abstracts Research II.

Discovery
GALILEO Discovery is an “online library portal to authoritative, subscription-only information that isn’t available through free search engines or Web directories.” Discovery also provides an advanced search option so that the user is able to access multiple databases with a variety of disciplines in one place.

ACM Digital Library
The ACM Digital Library includes the Association for Computing Machinery's:

  • Core Package, with 19 journals and magazines and 26 transactions.
  • Master SIG (Special Interest Group) Package, with more than 85 conference proceedings and all SIG newsletters
  • The ACM Online Guide to Computing Literature ("the Guide"), a database of 850,000 bibliographic citations expanding beyond ACM's literature.

JSTOR
This database provides access to complete back files of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. This database provides archives of 27 journals related to Genral Science including Proceedings of the Royal Society of London with coverage back to 1854. The Tarver Library subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I, II, and III and also Health & General Sciences.

JSTOR's agreement with publishers include an updating provision referred to as a "moving wall," which is a fixed period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years, that defines the gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR. This database will begin to include some current content in 2011. The Tarver Library is not yet subscribing to this current content. Tarver librarians created this guide to help students using this database.

Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)
Dissertations and Theses Full Text is a multidisciplinary database which includes 2.4 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.

Science & Technology Collection (EBSCO)
Contains over 800 full-text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications. This collection contains many scholarly journals.

Web of Science (Web of Knowledge/Thomson Reuters)
Provides detailed citations and abstracts for the top scholarly periodicals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers both domestic and international journals, open access resources, books, patents, proceedings, and Web sites.

American Chemical Society Journals
The American Chemical Society journals are published in both paper and online format. The Society has made the online journals available to subscribers, and provides a search tool covering all their journals. You can search by title words, author, and year of publication, and can limit your search to one or several journals.

Librarians

If you need assistance, please Ask Us or contact one of the Health, Engineering, and Sciences Team librarians:

Arlene Desselles
Coordinator
Phone: 678-547-6283
E-mail: 

Lowe, Louise

Louise Lowe
Phone: (678)547-6207 
E
-mail: lowe_ll@mercer.edu

Julie Huskey

Gail Morton
Phone: 478-301-2251
E-mail: 

Olson, Lee

Lee Olson
Phone: 478.301.2852
E-mail: olson_lt@mercer.edu