Philosophy

by Jeremy M. Brown last modified 2017-07-05T15:32:49-04:00
Databases

Philosopher's Index  — This is the major index of scholarly journals, books, and book reviews in the many fields of philosophy, including aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion. This database is included in Discovery.

Religion & Philosophy Collection  — This collection includes nearly 300 full-text journals, with more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, covering topics in spiritual, ethical, philosophical, cultural, and historical aspects of the world's major denominations and religions. This database is included in Discovery.

Arts & Humanities (ProQuest) — Includes hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.

Discovery — an EBSCO service allowing you to search multiple databases and the library catalog simultaneously. Many, but not all philosophy databases are included here. This service is made available to us through GALILEO, Georgia Library Learning Online, an initiative of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia.

Research Library  — a general database providing access to scholarly journals and general magazines, many of which are available in full text. This database is not included in Discovery.

Dissertations and Theses Full Text  — The database offers full-text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Also available through this link is the option using the Advanced Search (selecting school name/code) to include and/or limit to doctoral dissertations and/or master’s theses produced by students at the Atlanta campus of Mercer University. This database is not included in Discovery.

JSTOR — This database provides access to complete back files of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences with coverage back to 1890. NOTE: JSTOR is primarily useful for locating older articles. This is due to an agreement with publishers where JSTOR typically does not provide full text coverage for the most recent 2 to 5 years, in exchange for complete archival access. A guide is available to help students using this database. This database is included in Discovery.

ARTstor Digital Library — This resource provides over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. This guide provides instructions on navigating ARTstor. This curriculum guide on Introduction to Philosophy was compiled by faculty members and experts around the country. This database is included in Discovery.

Oxford English Dictionary Online — The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological analysis and in listing of variant spellings, and it shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.

Web of Science (Web of Knowledge/Thomson Reuters) — Provides detailed citations and abstracts for the top scholarly periodicals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. This database is not included in Discovery.

Librarians

If you need assistance, please Ask Us or contact one of the Humanities Team librarians: